Research and Grants

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Creative Scholarship, offers technical support to student and faculty researchers. Funded research is supported and protected by the Office for Research and Sponsored Programs.  In an effort to be transparent with American Indian communities, this page lists grant funded research and studies conducted by UM within American Indian communities. Numerous schools, departments and programs conduct research in and about American Indian communities, in Montana and beyond. This list was last updated in Spring semester, 2014.

College of Forestry and Conservation

Native American Natural Resources Program

Contact: Wayne Freimund, wayne.freimund@umontana.edu

Native Science Fellows

Contact: James Burchfield, james.burchfield@umontana.edu

College of Health Professions and Biomedical Sciences

Skaggs School of Pharmacy

Mental and Sexual Health in Native American Communities

Contact: Annie Belcourt,  annie.belcourt@umontana.edu

Tobacco Use Prevention Program

Contact: Bannister, bernadette.bannister@umontana.edu

College of Humanities and Sciences

Indigenous Research and STEM Education

Contact: Aaron Thomas, aaron.thomas@umontana.edu

Department of Psychology

InPsych Program (for Native American graduate students)

Contact: Gyda Swaney, gyda.swaney@umontana.edu

Department of Sociology

American Indian Juvenile Population and DMC

Contact: Dusten Hollist, dusten.hollist@umontana.edu

College of Visual and Performing Arts

Theater and Dance

CoMotion Dance Project

Contact: Karen Kaufmann, karen.kaufmann@umontana.edu

Montana Institute on Ecosystems

AMP Scholars Program

Contact: Jon Stannard, jon.stannard@umontana.edu

KUFM

The Write Question: Native American Authors

Contact: Linda Talbott, linda.talbott@umontana.edu

Phyllis J. Washington College of Education and Health Sciences

Department of Curriculum and Instruction

American Empires (educating middle school teachers)

Contact: Schertz, matthew.schertz@umontana.edu

Health and Human Performance

Montana’s HIV Prevention Social Marketing Campaign

Contact: Laura Dybdal, laura.dybdal@umontana.edu

Visiting Scholars Exchange to University of Hawaii, Oahu

Contact: Blakely Brown, blakely.brown@umontana.edu

National Native Children’s Trauma Center

Rural Institute

American Indian Disability Technical Assistance Project, defunded program however with resources still available.

School of Journalism

Environmental Science Reporting in Rural Montana and Indian Country