ASUM's Program Prioritization Page

What is Program Prioritization?

Program Prioritization is a process that essentially ranks programs according to a setcriteria and then uses those rankings to redistribute funds and resources across those programs. (Remember: Rank programs, redistribute resources).

So What?

The University of Montana is moving forward with this process through Forward125 and the Academic Programs and Administrative Services Prioritization (APASP) Task Forces. This means that the programs students are enrolled in will be ranked by a set of common criteria, sorted, evaluated, cut, and/or given more funding. Some programs may disappear or be consolidated with others, while other programs may be given more resources to expand. This is critical to the future of academic and non-academic services at UM. Some programs that students value will receive much-needed funding, and in turn others will be cut to compensate for other programs. Students will need to have a strong voice in this process.

We want students to be informed and engaged in this process so that you can be awareof the changes that your university is undergoing and help shape our direction.

Why is this Happening?

UM has experienced declining enrollment and subsequent loss of revenue resulting in the need for the redistribution of resources. At a minimum, the University of Montana will need to find $6,000,000 by the next academic year due to our current situation.
On October 13th 2016, higher education consultant Robert Dickeson led a workshop on academic and administrative program prioritization based on his boo“Prioritizing Academic Programs and Services: Reallocating Resources to Achieve Strategic Balance” (2010).
The Program Prioritization process has been used at many other institutions insituations similar to ours. Due to declining enrollment and lower state support, the University of Montanahas had to make a series of cuts to faculty and staff over the past several years. Typically, these cuts have been opportunistic, meaning that when a faculty/staff member retires or leaves the University, their position has not been rehired. The results of this long term would be devastating to some areas of campus, as faculty/staff numbers would continue to dwindle without replacement until the overall situation atthe University improves (a mediocrity for all effect).  Some areas have made strategic/mission-based cuts, but these have largely been uncoordinated with other sectors at UM, or the university as a whole. Program prioritization will allow the University of Montana to more strategically allocate resources based on our changing priorities.
This process, though just beginning at UM, follows other continuing attempts realign the university with programmatic and financial Program Prioritization is intended to maximize available resources at UM.

Logistics at the University of Montana

The Academic Programs and Administrative Services Prioritization Task Force (APASP) has been formed and will begin meeting regularly starting the second week of April (2017).

The APASP Task Force is one of five branches of the Forward125 working group (whose goals can be found here), and the APASP has been tasked with the following objectives:

-First is to provide advice, guidance and oversight to all components of APASP planningand implementation.

-Second is to establish the necessary components (metrics, operational definitions, review criteria, formulas/weights, categories of ranking/associated actions, etc.), the review processes to be used, and the timeline/benchmarks required to meet the established completion target date.

-Third is to propose a set of recommendations for academic program and administrative services prioritization for review and consideration by the President and Executive Cabinet.

Committee Make-Up

ASUM's Ad-Hoc Program Prioritization Committee Members (2016-17 Academic Year):

Chair Chase Greenfield, ASUM Business Manager:

Sam Forstag, ASUM President:

Anisa Ricci, ASUM Senator:

Julian Adler, ASUM Senator:

Alex Butler, ASUM Senator:

Elle Fettig, ASUM Senator:

Lexi Klawitter, ASUM Senator:

Stephen Pelletier, Student-at-Large:

University of Montana's Academic Program and Administrative Services Prioritization (Spring 2017-Fall 2017):

Task Force Chair

  • Beverly Edmond, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Faculty Representatives (7)

  • John DeBoer, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance
  • Christine Fiore, Chair, Department of Psychology
  • Paul Haber, Professor, Department of Political Science
  • Colin Henderson, Professor, Missoula College
  • Elizabeth Putnam, Chair, Department of Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Steve Schwarze, Professor, Department of Communication Studies
  • Andrew Ware, Chair, Department of Physics & Astronomy

Staff Representatives (4)

  • Stephanie Domitrovich, Academic Advisor and Adjunct Faculty, Department of Health and Human Performance
  • Laurie Fisher, Director, Career Services
  • Rozlyn Haley, Compliance Specialist, Office of Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action and UM Police Department
  • Jennifer Zellmer-Cuaresma, Athletic Academic Advisor, Intercollegiate Athletics

Student Representatives (4)

  • Sam Forstag, ASUM President; Senior, Political Science & Philosophy
  • Chase Greenfield, ASUM Business Manager; Junior, Philosophy & English Literature
  • Erik Johnston, Graduate Student, Material Sciences Ph.D. Program
  • Anisa Ricci, ASUM Senator; Sophomore, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies & Political Science

Administration Representatives (3)

  • Tom DeLuca, Dean, W.A. Franke College of Forestry and Conservation
  • Beverly Edmond, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs (CHAIR)
  • Scott Whittenburg, Vice President for Research & Creative Scholarship; Dean, Graduate School