A single page, a folder or an entire site can be publshed. First select the item then click on the Publish tab. Once the publish tab is selected, the following screen is visible. Before the site has been published to the live web server, only one destination (the staging server) will be visible.
The Staging server is useful for viewing your website exactly how it will look when it is live. Since it's on a real web server, people can be linked to the site to make sure it's ready for production.
Once the site has been published to Production, two destinations will be available. Once an object is published, the amount of time needed before publishing is complete depends on how many other people are publishing at the moment and how many pages are in the publishing queue.