International Committee


The International Committee consists of faculty, staff, and students who are appointed by the President and charged with promoting internationalization efforts on campus, and developing and recommending policies, procedures, and partnerships regarding internationalization of the UM community. The duties of the International Committee include review and recommendation of new and ongoing partnership agreements, review and ranking of applications for faculty long-term international activities, and review and recommendation of a recipient for the Distinguished Service to International Education Award.


Royce C. Engstrom, President


Nader Shooshtari, Business Management

FACULTY (Eight; Three-year term)

Wayne Freimund, Society & Conservation (2015)

Marc Hendrix, Geosciences (2015)

Sarah Halvorson, Geography (2015) 

James Laskin, Department of Physical Theraphy and Rehabilitation Sciences (2014)

Ke Norman, Department of Mathematical Sciences (2014)

Michael Braun, School of Business Administration (2015)

Jody Pavilack, Department of History (2015)

Julie Edwards, Mansfield Library (2015)

Michael Braun, SOBA (2015)

Darrell Stolle, Phyllis J. Washington School of Education and Human Sciences (2015)

Michael DeGrandpre, Department of Chemistry (2014)

Raymond Cross, School of Law (2014)

Liz Ametsbichler, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures (2015)

STAFF (Two; Three-year term)

Jean Loftus, Global Leadership Initiative (2014)

Sandy Ross, Graduate School (2015)

STUDENT (Three; One-year term)

Dan Biehl, GSA (2015)

Asa Hohman (2014)

Sean McQuillan (2014)

ADDITIONAL REPRESENTATIVES (Appointed by the President; Three-year term)


Abraham Kim, Director, Mansfield Center (2016)

Sandy Ross, Associate Dean of the Graduate School (2015)

Steven Kalm, Dean of the College of Visual and Performing Arts (2015)

Liz Ametsbichler, Modern and Classical Languages and Literature (2015) 

Missoula College

Lynn Stocking, Associate Dean (2016)

UM Western

Linda Lyon

Alan Weltzien


Juana Alcala, Associate Director, Enrollment Services

Effie Koehn, Director, Foreign Student and Scholar Services

Marja Unkuri-Chaudhry, Office of International Programs


Jerry Fetz, Interim Director of International Programs

Sandi Janusch, Director, English Language Institute


Updated March 2014