Professional Education Council


The Professional Education Council (PEC) is the primary vehicle for coordinating all programs in the Professional Education Unit (PEU), which includes all programs engaged in the initial and advanced preparation of P-12 teachers and other school professionals. At UM, the PEU includes faculty and administrators in more than 40 programs across the campus. These include programs in the Phyllis J. Washington College of Education as well as core elementary education content courses, majors for secondary teacher licensure, and other advanced programs for school professionals offered in the College of Humanities and Sciences and the College of the Arts and Media. This campus-wide leadership committee, led by the Dean of the Phyllis J. Washington College of Education, fosters a progressive and innovative environment to aid in the preparation of tomorrow’s P-12 education professionals and plays a critical role in the accreditation and continuous improvement of outcomes for all candidates enrolled in PEU programs at the University of Montana. Deans of the colleges represented in the PEU serve as ex-officio members.


Adrea Lawrence, Dean, Phyllis J. Washington College of Education


Nathan Lindsay, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Adrea Lawrence, Unit Head and Dean, PJWCoE

Dan Lee, Associate Dean, PJWCoE

Dean, College of Humanities and Sciences

Laurie Baefsky, Dean, College of the Arts and Media

Morgen Alwell, T&L Chair

Dani Smith, Director of Field Experiences

Kristi Steinberg, Director of Accreditation

Jason Neiffer, Montana Digital Academy


Faculty and Administrators

Kate Brayko, T&L, Elementary K-8 Initial Licensure

Stephanie Reid, T&L, Elementary K-8 Initial Licensure for Brayko sabbatical 20-21

Allison Wilson, T&L, Early Childhood P-3 Initial Licensure

Martin Horejsi, T&L, Secondary Initial Licensure

Fletcher Brown, T&L Advanced Programs

Jeb Puryear, T&L Advanced Programs for Brown sabbatical 20-21

Emily Sallee, COUN Other School Professionals

John Matt, EDLD Other School Professionals

Michael Ruybalid, CAM Initial Licensure

Jennifer Combe, CAM Initial Licensure

Stephanie Retrievi, CHS Dean's Office Representative

Beverly Chin, English, ESL

Appointment Pending, Sciences

Jacqueline Brown, School Psychology

Matt Roscoe, Mathematics

Dora LaCasse, World Languages and Cultures

Vacant, Social Sciences


Vacant, Initial Licensure Candidate

Vacant, Advanced Programs Candidate


Updated May 2, 2022