Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Diversity Advisory Council

The University of Montana

Diversity Advisory Council Awards

The Nancy Borgmann Diversity Award

The Nancy Borgmann Diversity Award, named in honor of a former Director of the Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity, recognizes contributions made by individuals or agencies that support the University's mission on diversity. The award comes with a $1,500 prize.  All full-time permanent University employees, with the exception of those currently serving on the Diversity Advisory Council, who have contributed substantially to cultural diversity at UM are eligible for this award.

Past Nancy Borgmann Diversity Award Recipients

2011-2012   Gyda Swaney

2010-2011   Penny Kukuk

2009-2010   George M. Dennison

2008-2009   Gregory Larson

2007-2008   Udo Fluck

2006-2007   Denny McAuliffe

Student Achievement Award

Diversity Advisory Council hosts a Student Achievement Awards Reception each spring.  The reception and awards ceremony is sponsored by the University President and the Vice President for Student Affairs. This reception honors those students who have been nominated for their leadership and support of diversity. All students, faculty and staff are invited to submit nominations online.

2012 Award Recipients

Abdullah Aljamea, Santee Ross, Jenae Sande, Dana Wilson, Noah Engbrecht, Dustin Cavanaugh, Courtney Damron Breanna Dennison, Ekaterina Sadovnikova Carolyn Adishian, Wai Wai Tun, Jara Tougas, Grecia Pacheco, Jillian Brown, Caitlin Parker, Noah Sohl, Julie DeSoto, Dylan DesRosier, Peter Donaldson, Randi Edwards, Rene Scott, Jordann Lankford, Jinann Bitar, Eean Grimshaw, Devin Carpenter, Sean Jeffrey, Itzel Perez Zagal-Yarger Toan Phung.

Diversity Advisory Council Grant

Mini-Grant for student groups

There are no further mini-grant funds available for FY14. Please check back next year.

In support of campus activities that would promote and enrich cultural diversity at The University of Montana, the Diversity Advisory Council invites UM student groups to submit proposals for funding consideration. Several grants, up to $1,000 each, are awarded annually. Only group members (students) may author proposals. Each proposal must identify the group's contact person who must be a student.