Article I - Name

The name of this governing body shall be IT Senate.

Article II – Charge

The charge of IT Senate is to provide a forum for initiation, evaluation and prioritization of IT strategic initiatives, and to recommend IT strategic directions to the President’s Cabinet that are aligned with University goals and aspirations.

Article III – Membership

Section 1 – Voting members

a. IT Senate voting members are appointed by sector vice presidents or other governing organizations.

b. Length of term is determined by appointing authority. Terms shall not exceed four years. An exception to the term limit may be granted by a vote of the full IT Senate.

c. Vacancies are filled by appointing authority.

d. Voting members are as follows:

Sector/organization How appointed

  • Academic Affairs Representative appointed by Provost
  • Dean appointed by Council of Deans
  • Administration & Finance Representative appointed by sector VP
  • Student Affairs Representative appointed by sector VP
  • Research & Creative Scholarship Representative appointed by sector VP
  • Integrated Communications Representative appointed by sector VP
  • Information Technology Chief Information Officer and Representative appointed by CIO
  • Intercollegiate Athletics Representative appointed by AD
  • UM Foundation / Alumni Representative appointed by consensus of UM Alumni Association CEO and UM Foundation CEO
  • Two student representatives Appointed by ASUM
  • Four faculty representatives Appointed by Faculty Senate
  • One staff representative Appointed by Staff Senate

Section 2 – Ex-officio non-voting members

a. IT Senate can invite ex-officio non-voting members as needed. Chairs of standing and ad hoc committees that are not voting members of the IT Senate will be ex-officio members.

b. Central IT shall appoint a non-voting staff member to take meeting minutes, keep a record of committee membership, maintain an IT Senate website and support communication, logistics and professional development for the IT Senate.

Article IV – Officers and Structure

Section 1 – Officer titles, selection, length of terms and duties

a. The officers of IT Senate shall be the Chairperson and the Chairperson Elect.

b. The Chairperson and Chairperson Elect shall be elected by a majority vote of IT Senate members.

c. Officers’ terms are one year in length and begin upon adjournment of the final IT Senate meeting of an academic year or when successors are elected. At that time, the Chairperson Elect ascends to become the Chairperson and a new Chairperson Elect is installed unless the IT Senate votes otherwise.

d. The Chairperson’s duties shall include calling and conducting meetings, preparing the agenda and overseeing committee membership. The Chairperson Elect will assume the duties of the chairperson in the absence of the same.

Section 2 – Governing structure

a. The IT Senate reports to the President’s Cabinet via the Chief Information Officer.

b. Standing and ad hoc committees report to the IT Senate.

Section 3 – Committees

a. The IT Senate may establish standing and ad hoc committees to assist in the discharge of its duties. The IT Senate shall define the duties and responsibilities of each committee.

b. The IT Senate Chairperson shall appoint the chairs of standing and ad hoc committees.

c. Any UM employee or student may serve as a voting member of a standing committee

d. Committee business may be initiated in two ways: 1) committee chairs may determine issues for committee consideration, or 2) the IT Senate Chairperson may delegate issues to a committee for consideration. e. Committees may bring seconded motions to the IT Senate.

Article V - Meetings

Section 1 – Frequency and Rules

a. IT Senate will convene six regular meetings per academic year, including three each semester. A standard day and time will be established for each semester.

b. Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson or by written request of 20 percent of voting members.

c. The IT Senate will follow Robert’s Rules of Order. The Chairperson makes the final determination regarding questions of parliamentary procedure.

d. A quorum consists of 60 percent of voting members.

e. With prior approval of the chair, members can designate an alternate to attend a meeting. The alternate will be allowed voting privileges.

Section 2 – Agendas

a. The Chairperson is responsible for establishing and communicating agendas to members one week in advance of a meeting.

b. The order of business is at the discretion of the Chairperson, but may consist of the following:

  • Call to order
  • Approval of minutes
  • Communications
  • Reports of committees
  • Unfinished business
  • New business
  • IT Senate professional development
  • Open forum

c. Consent agenda – Routine items to be voted on may be included in a consent agenda. Any member of the IT Senate can request that a consent agenda item be considered separately.

Section 3 – Attendance Requirements

Voting members of the IT Senate can have no more than two unexcused absences. Members may be excused in advance of a meeting by the Chairperson.

Article VI – Amendment of Bylaws

These bylaws may be amended at any regular meeting of the IT Senate by a two-thirds vote of voting members present, provided that the amendment has been submitted in writing at the previous regular meeting.

Approved February 12, 2013