Accessible Navigation.

Browning Lecture & Symposia

2013 Browning Lecture
September 19, 2013
Distinguished Guest Speaker:  Professor Ved Nanda

Ved P. Nanda

International Law
Evans University Professor
Thompson G. Marsh Professor of Law

Sturm College of Law

Professor Nanda has taught at the University of Denver since 1965. In addition to his scholarly achievements, he is significantly involved in the global international law community. He is Past President of the World Jurist Association and now its Honorary President, former honorary Vice President of the American Society of International Law and now its counselor, and a member of the advisory council of the United States Institute of Human Rights. He was formerly the United States Delegate to the World Federation of the United Nations Associations, Geneva, and Vice-Chair of its Executive Council, and also served on the Board of Directors of the United Nations Association-USA. He also serves as an elected member of the American Law Institute and as a council member for the American Bar Association Section of International Law.

In 2006 Professor Nanda was honored with a $1 million founding gift from DU alumni Doug and Mary Scrivner to launch the Ved Nanda Center for International and Comparative Law. The Center began its programming in 2007, hosting programs for the lawyers, students and community participants as well as promoting scholarship in the field of international law. (more)

The Honorable James R. Browning Distinguished Lecture in Law and Browning Symposium

James R. Browning

The Browning lecture series is presented by members of the Montana Law Review. It honors Judge James R. Browning,


United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. Judge Browning, who grew up in Belt, Montana, graduated from The University of Montana School of Law in 1941. He was a member of the first editorial board of the Montana Law Review and ultimately served as Editor-in-Chief of the Law Review. Judge Browning passed away May 5, 2012.

In September of 1961, President John F. Kennedy appointed Judge Browning to the Ninth Circuit, where the Judge served until his retirement. Prior to joining the Court, Judge Browning served as Clerk of the United States Supreme Court.

Judge Browning served with distinction as Chief Judge of the Ninth Circuit from 1976 to 1988. As Chief Judge, Judge Browning was credited with reorganizing and modernizing the administration of the Ninth Circuit. Thanks to his political savvy and remarkable leadership skills, Judge Browning was successful in keeping the Ninth Circuit intact despite persistent efforts to divide the Circuit.

In 1991, Judge Browning received the coveted American Judicature Society's Edward J. Devitt Award for Distinguished Service to Justice. In September of 2001, the State Bar of Montana bestowed on Judge Browning the Bar’s highest honor, the William J. Jameson Award. In 2005, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals building in San Francisco was renamed the James R. Browning United States Courthouse.

Judge Browning was married to Marie Rose Chapell, also a University of Montana graduate. Together, they have been a powerful force in ensuring that the modern Ninth Circuit is marked by inclusiveness and collegiality.

The Lecture Series


"Today's Supreme Court" with William Suter from UM School of Law on Vimeo.


2013 Browning Lecture - September 19, 2013
Professor Ned Vanda
International Law
Evans University Professor
Thompson G. Marsh Professor of Law
Sturm College of Law

2012 Browning Symposium
Debating Democracy's Future: The State of the
Form of Government in the States
Keynote: Professor Lawrence Lessig
September 27-28, 2012

Professor Rennard J. Strickland
University of Oregon School of Law
April 5, 2007

Major General William K. Suter (Ret.)
Clerk of the Supreme Court
April 12, 2012

The Honorable Martha Craig Daughtrey
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
April 6, 2006

Roberta Cooper Ramo
President, American Law Institute
April 28, 2011

Professor Charles J. Ogletree, Jr.
Harvard University
November 8, 2004

Dean Erwin Chemerinsky
University of California, Irvine School of Law
"Closing the Courthouse Doors"

March 8, 2010

Professor Lawrence Lessig
Stanford University
April 11, 2003

Professor Judith Welch Wegner
University of North Carolina School of Law
April 7, 2008

Professor Michael J. Gerhardt
College of William and Mary Marshall-Wythe School of Law
February 28, 2002