The University of Montana Legal Counsel's Office Clinic

Variable Credit(s)
Fall: LAW 600 10 | Spring: LAW 601 10

Academic Year/Summer

The University of Montana Legal Counsel's Office

Supervising Attorney:
Lucy France, Claudia Denker Eccles, Jessica Weltman

Faculty Supervisor:
Clinical Professor Jeff Renz


  • Professional Responsibility (effective for all classes entering Fall 2011 and thereafter) 

Areas of Law: The intersection of Higher Education Law and substantive areas of law, including technology transfers matters, affirmative action, diversity and equal opportunity issues, federal research compliance, contracts, tort cases and counseling various UM groups on legal issues

Lawyering Skills: Problem solving; Legal research; Written and oral communication; Handling litigation and administrative agency proceedings; Draft contracts, legislation and policies; Develop interpersonal skills; Client counseling; and Identify/resolve ethical issues.

Sample Projects:   Draft technology transfer, lease, commercial and other kinds of agreements; Research on federal and state regulatory matters; Investigate discrimination cases; Evaluate likely and potential impact on UM of proposed activities; Participate in student and employee disciplinary cases; Draft UM policies; Provide legal analysis and support to University administrators and committees.

 UMGC does general legal work involving The University of Montana campuses in Missoula, Butte, Dillon and Helena.  This work may include assisting with legal representation of the University in litigation and administrative agency proceedings; researching topics relating to current higher education issues; drafting legislation; developing University policies; handling technology transfer, grant administration, and federal and state compliance issues; patent related matters; dealing with a variety of affirmative action, equally opportunity and diversity issues; and working with University administrators and committees. The UMGC also provides legal support for the Montana Board of Regents and Commissioner of Higher Education.