UMArts Home

UM Symphonic Wind Ensemble

Dennison Theatre
Student Ensemble
Tue, 05/07/2013 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
The University of Montana Symphonic Wind  Ensemble and conductor, James Smart will close its 2012-2013 season with the most ambitious and eclectic concert of the year.  Czech-born composer Karel Husa wrote Music for Prague in response to the massive Eastern Bloc invasion of Czechoslovakia in August of 1968.  In a period known as the Prague Spring, the people of politicians of Czechoslovakia were attempting to soften the hard line Stalinism of the past and promote an increase in freedoms of speech, press and movement.  The end result was a four-country invasion of 200,000 troops and 2,000 tanks to reinstall the former oppressive regime.  Music for Prague won the 1969 Pulitzer Prize in Music and have been played by tens-of-thousands of bands and orchestras worldwide.  Another highlight of the concert is the world premiere performance of Concerto for Marimba and Wind Sinfonietta by renowned composer Christopher Theofanidis featuring UM’s own Dr. Robert LedBetter as the soloist.  Mr. Theofanidis teaches at Yale University and has written works for the major symphonies in London, New York, Philadelphia, Moscow, Washington D.C., Atlanta, Baltimore, St. Louis, Detroit, and many others.  Other works by Bach, Prokofiev, Tschesnokoff, Moncayo, and UM student Christopher Everingham.