Budget Committee

The University Budget Committee


Every Biennium the first priority of the University Budget Committee is the development of budget planning and alignment of its priorities to support the UM 2020 Strategic Plan and each respective Biennial Priorities list. In doing such, the Budget committee will review
  • Legislative and MUS economic and financial projections,
  • The Governor’s executive budget proposal,
  • The UM Annual and Biennial budget models, and
  • Current Enrollment, Revenue, and Expense Projections.
From this review, the committee will identify and suggest any needed base adjustments to the budget model, prior to consideration of new budget initiatives or strategic reallocations. 
The committee will then evaluate
  • Sector budget reports,
  • New initiative proposals, and
  • Requests for current year budget adjustments.
Based on this evaluation, the committee will advise by
  • Making recommendations to the President and the Council of Vice Presidents regarding current year budget adjustments, or OTO allocations from Contingency,
  • Making recommendations for base budget changes, reallocations, or new initiatives.

The committee will coordinate the continued refinement of the 2014/2015 biennial budget model, and prepare for the upcoming 2016/2017 biennial budget model. The UBC will begin finalizing its recommendations for the 2016/2017 biennial budget model after the 2015 Montana legislative session and the setting of tuition rates will continue at the following Board of Regents meeting.  These recommendations will be reviewed by the Council of Vice Presidents and forwarded to the President for approval in time for the 30 June implementation of each operating budget.



Rosi Keller, Vice President for Administration and Finance


Vice Presidents:

  • Cathy Cole, Vice President for Enrollment and Strategic Communications
  • Scott Whittenburg, Vice President for Research


  • Adrea Lawrence, Interim Dean, College of Education and Human Sciences
  • Tom DeLuca, Dean, College of Forestry and Conservation

Budget Directors (rotating out):

  • Stacey Eve, Budget Director
  • Michelle Jensen, Budget Director, Student Affairs
  • Hillary Stowell, Director of Academic Fiscal Affairs

 Faculty Senate:

  • Matt Semanoff, Faculty Senate Chair

 Staff Senate:

  • Annie Burgad, Staff Senate Finance Officer, Senior Systems Analyst, EIS
  • Michelle Tolzien, Assistant Director, University Center

Faculty Association:

  • Jeff Bookwalter, Professor, Economics


  • Alex Butler, ASUM President
  • Andria Schafer, ASUM Business Manager

FAM (Finance Academic Mangers):

  • Hannah Singleton, Fiscal Operations and Personnel Services, College of Visual and Performing Arts


Dawn Ressel, Associate Vice President, University Data Office: Institutional Research

Fiscal Initiatives, Subcommittees & Workgroups