The Inauguration of Dr. Royce C. Engstrom

Monday, May 2, 2011

University of Montana • Missoula, Montana

Building a University for the Global Century - The Inauguration of Dr. Royce C. Engstrom

In front of a standing-room-only audience packed into the University Theatre, Royce C. Engstrom was inaugurated May 2, 2011 as the 17th president of the University of Montana.

Montana Commissioner of Higher Education Sheila Stearns presided over the installation ceremony. Distinguished guests included Montana Gov. Brian Schweitzer, Missoula Mayor John Engen, Montana State University President Waded Cruzado and University of South Dakota President James W. Abbott. Engstrom worked 28 years at USD before coming to UM in 2007.

Board of Regents Chair Clayton Christian conducted the investiture. Engstrom was presented the UM Medallion, which is passed on to each president; the first UM graduate thesis, written in 1899 by Earl Douglass; and a velvet tam. The Bible used in the ceremony was the one given to Engstrom in the third grade. His family tree is recorded in it.

Stearns noted that the United States flag atop the Capitol in Washington, D.C., on May 2 was flown in honor of the inauguration, and it will be presented to Engstrom. A luncheon followed at the Adams Center, and the day concluded with a forum and panel discussions in the University Center Theater around the inauguration theme, "Building a University for the Global Century."