Outstanding Faculty Advising Award

The $1,500 Outstanding Faculty Advising Award recognizes a faculty member who has contributed substantially to excellence in undergraduate academic advising.

Who is eligible:
All faculty advisers.

Nominations for this award are evaluated using guidelines developed by the National Academic Advising Association. Advising excellence includes evidence of the following characteristics:

  • current knowledge of university policies.
  • effective interpersonal skills.
  • demonstration of a caring attitude toward students.
  • adequate time devoted to student advising.
  • referral of students to appropriate sources of assistance.
  • understanding of student concerns from a student point of view.
  • provision of long-range educational planning and immediate problem-solving.
  • willingness to share advising skills with colleagues.
  • continuing to improve the style and substance of the advising role.
  • advising for special populations (foreign, minority, undecided, special programs).
  • attendance at and support of adviser development programs.
  • number of years as an active academic adviser.

Who may nominate:
Department chairs, faculty colleagues and students.

Nomination requirements:

  • Nomination Form
  • two-page substantiating narrative.
  • up to five supportive letters, including at least one from a student.

Send nominations and documentation to:
Nathan Lindsay
Office of the Provost
University Hall 126

2015 Winner

Dan Doyle

Professor, Department of Sociology

Previous recipients include Cara Nelson, Gene Burns, Mike Minnick, Daniel Spencer, Cynthia Garthwait, Paul Lauren, Lisa Eby, and Jennifer McNulty.