2019-20 Academic Calendar

For planning purposes, the schedules for future academic years have been projected. Dates listed below are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in registration instructions take precedence over those listed below.

NOTE: UM students taking coursework at campuses other than UM's Mountain, Missoula College, or Bitterroot College Program campuses should also consult that campus' academic calendar.

Autumn Semester 2019

Date Description
Wed-Fri, August 21-23 New  Student Orientation
Mon, August 26 Autumn Semester Classes Begin
Mon, September 2 Labor Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Mon, November 11 Veterans Day Observed – No Classes, Offices Closed
Wed, November 27 Student Travel Day – No Classes
Thurs-Fri, November 28-29 Thanksgiving Break – No Classes, Offices Closed
Fri, December 6 Last Day of Regular Classes
Mon-Fri, December 9-13 Final Exams

Spring Semester 2020

Date Description
Thurs-Fri, January 2-3 New Student Orientation
Mon, January 6 Spring Semester Classes Begin
Mon, January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Mon, February 17 Presidents' Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Mon-Fri, March 16-20 Spring Break - No Classes
Fri, April 24 Last Day of Regular Classes
Mon-Fri, April 27-May 1 Final Exams
Sat, May 2 Commencement

Summer Semester 2020

Date Description
Mon, May 4 Classes Begin for 3-week Session I
Mon, May 11 Classes Begin for 12-week Session and 6-week Session I
Fri, May 22 Last day of classes for 3-week Session I
Mon, May 25 Memorial Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Tues, May 26 Classes Begin for 3-week Session II
Fri, June 12 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session II
Fri, June 19 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session I
Fri, July 3 Independence Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Mon, July 6 Classes Begin for 6-week Session II and 3-week Session III
Fri, July 24 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session III
Mon, July 27 Classes Begin for 3-week Session IV
Fri, August 7 Last Day of Classes for 12-week Session
Fri, August 14 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session II and 3-week Session IV
Wed-Fri, August 26-28 New Student Orientation for Autumn 2020