2019-20 Academic Calendar

For planning purposes, the schedules for future academic years have been projected. Dates listed below are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in registration instructions take precedence over those listed below.

NOTE: UM students taking coursework at campuses other than UM's Mountain, Missoula College, or Bitterroot College Program campuses should also consult that campus' academic calendar.

Autumn Semester 2019

Date Description
Sat-Sat, August 17-24 New  Student Orientation
Mon, August 26 Autumn Semester Classes Begin
Mon, September 2 Labor Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Mon, November 11 Veterans Day Observed – No Classes, Offices Closed
Wed, November 27 Student Travel Day – No Classes
Thurs-Fri, November 28-29 Thanksgiving Break – No Classes, Offices Closed
Fri, December 6 Last Day of Regular Classes
Mon-Fri, December 9-13 Final Exams
Sat, December 14 Fall Commencement

Spring Semester 2020

Date Description
Thurs-Fri, January 9-10 New Student Orientation
Mon, January 13 Spring Semester Classes Begin
Mon, January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Mon, February 17 Presidents' Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Mon-Fri, March 16-20 Spring Break - No Classes
Fri, May 1 Last Day of Regular Classes
Mon-Fri, May 4-8 Final Exams
Sat, May 9 Commencement

Summer Semester 2020

Summer sessions are offered in 3-week, 6-week and 12-week formats. All formats have a session beginning in May. See below for the start dates of all summer sessions. For more information, visit the UMSummer website .

Date  12- week Summer Session Description
Monday, May 11 Begin for 12-week Session Classes
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, July 3 Independence Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, July 31 Last Day of Classes for 12-week Session

 

Date 6-week Summer Sessions Description
Monday, May 11 Classes Begin for 6-week Session I
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, June 19 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session I
Monday, July 6 Classes Begin for 6-week Session II
Friday, August 14 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session II

 

Date 3-week Summer Sessions Description
Monday, May 11 Classes Begin for 3-week Session I
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, May 29 Last day of classes for 3-week Session I
Monday, June 1 Classes Begin for 3-week Session II
Friday, June 19 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session II
Friday, July 3 Independence Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, July 6 Classes Begin for 3-week Session III 
Friday, July 24 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session III
Monday, July 27 Classes Begin for 3-week Session IV
Friday, August 14 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session IV
Saturday-Saturday, August 22-29 New Student Orientation for Autumn 2020