2021-22 Academic Calendar

For planning purposes, schedules for future academic years have been projected. Dates listed below are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in registration instructions take precedence over those listed below.

NOTE: UM students taking coursework at campuses other than UM's Mountain, Missoula College, or Bitterroot College Program campuses should also consult that campus' academic calendar .

Autumn Semester 2021

Date Description
Thursday-Friday, August 26-27 New  Student Orientation
Monday, August 30 Autumn Semester Classes Begin
Monday, September 6 Labor Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Thursday, November 11 Veterans Day Observed – No Classes, Offices Closed
Wednesday, November 24 Student Travel Day – No Classes
Thursday-Friday, November 25-26 Thanksgiving Break – No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, December 10 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, December 13-17 Final Exams
December 18 Fall Commencement

Spring Semester 2022

Date Description
Thursday-Friday, January 6-7 New Student Orientation
Monday, January 10 Spring Semester Classes Begin
Monday, January 17 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, February 21 Presidents' Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday-Friday, March 14-18 Spring Break - No Classes
Friday, April 29 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, May 2-6 Final Exams
Saturday, May 7 Spring Commencement

Summer Semester 2022

Date Description
Monday, May 9 Classes Begin for 3-week Session I
Monday, May 16 Classes Begin for 12-week Session and 6-week Session I
Friday, May 27 Last day of classes for 3-week Session I
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Tuesday, May 31 Classes Begin for 3-week Session II
Friday, June 17 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session II
Friday, June 24 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session I
Monday-Friday, July 4-8 No Classes, Summer Break
Monday, July 4 Independence Day - Offices Closed
Monday, July 11 Classes Begin for 6-week Session II and 3-week Session III
Friday, July 29 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session III
Monday, August 1 Classes Begin for 3-week Session IV
Friday, August 12 Last Day of Classes for 12-week Session
Friday, August 19 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session II and 3-week Session IV
Thursday-Friday, August 25-26 New Student Orientation for Autumn 2022