2022-23 Academic Calendar

For planning purposes, schedules for future academic years have been projected. Dates listed below are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in registration instructions take precedence over those listed below.

NOTE: UM students taking coursework at campuses other than UM's Mountain, Missoula College, or Bitterroot College Program campuses should also consult that campus' academic calendar.

Autumn Semester 2022

Date Description
Thursday-Friday, August 25-26 New  Student Orientation
Monday, August 29 Autumn Semester Classes Begin
Monday, September 5 Labor Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Tuesday, November 8 Election Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, November 11 Veterans Day Observed – No Classes, Offices Closed
Wednesday, November 23 Student Travel Day – No Classes
Thursday-Friday, November 24-25 Thanksgiving Break – No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, December 19 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, December 12-16 Final Exams
Saturday, December 17 Fall Commencement

Spring Semester 2023

Date Description
Thursday-Friday, January 5-6 New Student Orientation
Monday, January 9 Spring Semester Classes Begin
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, February 20 Presidents' Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday-Friday, March 13-17 Spring Break - No Classes
Friday, April 28 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, May 2-5 Final Exams
Saturday, May 6 Spring Commencement

Summer Semester 2023

Date Description
Monday, May 8 Classes Begin for 3-week Session I
Monday, May 15 Classes Begin for 12-week Session and 6-week Session I
Friday, May 26 Last day of classes for 3-week Session I
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Tuesday, May 30 Classes Begin for 3-week Session II
Friday, June 16 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session II
Friday, June 23 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session I
Monday-Friday, July 3-7 No Classes, Summer Break
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day - Offices Closed
Monday, July 10 Classes Begin for 6-week Session II and 3-week Session III
Friday, July 28 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session III
Monday, July 31 Classes Begin for 3-week Session IV
Friday, August 11 Last Day of Classes for 12-week Session
Friday, August 18 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session II and 3-week Session IV
Thursday-Friday, August 24-25 New Student Orientation for Autumn 2023