University Administration

Board of Regents

The governance and administration of the Montana University System (composed of the University of Montana and Montana State University) is vested with the Board of Regents by the Governor. The board consists of seven members, one of whom is a student.

Commissioner of Higher Education

Clayton Christian


Royce C. Engstrom

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Perry J. Brown

Vice President for Administration and Finance

Michael Reid

Vice President for Research and Creative Scholarship

Scott Whittenburg

Vice President for Student Affairs

Teresa Branch

Vice President for Integrated Communications

Peggy Kuhr

University of Montana Foundation 

The UM Foundation is the fundraising arm of the university and manages all donor funds. It is led by President Shane Giese.