Undergraduate Admissions

Undergraduate Admissions

Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) Scholarship

The Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) Scholarship is a highly competitive, academic, merit-based scholarship. The scholarship committee will automatically evaluate students from WUE States for the WUE Scholarship based on the application for admission. 

Information on the scholarship criteria for the 2022-23 academic year will be released soon.

We recommend accepting this scholarship by May 1. Students can accept their merit scholarship until June 30.

Student’s academic major will not have any effect in the awarding process. If awarded the WUE Scholarship, you are not eligible to receive other non-resident entering student scholarships.

Eligible applicants must be a first time incoming student (new freshmen or transfer), seeking an undergraduate degree on the Mountain Campus of the University of Montana and be a resident of one of the following qualifying WUE states: WUE Map

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wyoming
  • The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)
  • Guam

Additional Information

For additional details on our scholarships, please visit the Financial Aid Non-Resident Scholarships website.


The University of Montana is committed to providing a fair and consistent scholarship process that offers students the opportunity to appeal for scholarship reconsideration. As a rule, UM scholarships are awarded based on academic merit, as measured by a combination of high school GPA, test (ACT, SAT) scores, or transfer GPA. The Scholarship Committee seldom deviates from the published awarding criteria. However, we recognize there are occasionally circumstances where a review is warranted, such as new test scores, a revised GPA, or unforeseen life events that may have impacted a student's performance. Elevating a student's scholarship to the next level for the purpose of accommodating "unforeseen life events" only occurs in rare cases, and only when the student's original GPA or test scores fall just immediately below the stated requirement. Reconsideration for improved GPA and/or new test scores will automatically qualify a student for a new scholarship, upon the University being notified of the student's improved status.

New Student Scholarship Reconsideration Form