Oct. 7, 2020: Spring 2021 Calendar and Commencement

Dear UM family,

 

Recently, the Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education announced that spring break 2021 would be converted into an instructional week. The rationale behind this announcement is to decrease the number of individuals travelling amidst the coronavirus pandemic. Following this guidance, a group of UM faculty, staff, students, and administrators developed an updated calendar for spring semester 2021 that meets instructional and financial aid requirements, while at the same time providing a few student break days throughout the semester.

 

Here are the dates of note:

 

Monday, January 11 — First Day of Classes

Monday, January 18 — Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday

(no classes, offices closed)

Monday, February 15 — Presidents Day Holiday

(no classes, offices closed)

Thursday, March 4 — Student Break (no classes)

Tuesday, March 16 — Student Break (no classes)

Friday, April 2 — Student Break (no classes)

Friday, April 23 — Last Day of Classes

Monday, April 26 through Friday, April 30 — Final Exams

 

Without a traditional Spring Break at UM, we will be watching the plans or updated guidance from Missoula County Public Schools regarding their spring break.  UM will be exploring child care options for faculty, staff, and students during the semester and for that week, specifically.

 

Plans for commencement are in progress.  As conditions allow, we are planning to hold commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 1 for Spring 2020, Summer 2020, Fall 2020, and Spring 2021 graduates.

 

Summer classes will begin Monday, May 10, and will consist of 3-week, 6-week, and 12-week sessions.

 

We appreciate your flexibility as we navigate our ever-changing circumstances.

 

Sincerely,

The Office of the Provost

 

This message was sent by the Office of the Provost to all UM faculty, staff, administrators, students, and affiliates.