DHC Scholarship Information

General DHC Scholarships

  • All undergraduates in the Davidson Honors College, University of Montana-Missoula are eligible to apply for the DHC biannual scholarships.
  • Scholarships are offered once a year. Students may apply for scholarships for the summer and following academic year. The annual deadline is March 15.
  • Preference shall be given to individuals who exhibit a financial need in addition to articulating the academic, personal, and professional growth opportunities associated with the experience as well as students with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.4 at UM.
  • Scholarships are posted to student accounts and the remaining balance after any outstanding debts are cleared will be deposited to the student’s information on file.
  • Scholarship funding must be used for the opportunity listed in the student’s application. If plans change, students must reach out to DHC staff to discuss the next steps for the award. Funds may need to be returned if experience no longer aligns with donor-stated use.

Awards made from this fund may include:

Andrea Sliter Goudge Honors Scholarship:

For Montana high school graduates in the Davidson Honors College, majoring in business or economics.

Andrew and Wendy Davidson Scholarship:

For Montana resident, based on academic merit and financial need. Preference shall be given to students who are business or health and human performance majors. 

Carl and Bella Nelson and Ellsworth and Mabel Nelson Scholarship:

For sophomores in the Davidson Honors College studying business administration, math, the natural sciences, or physical sciences.  Must have financial need as determined by the Office of Financial Aid need analysis. Renewable for second year.

D. Balfour Jeffrey Scholarship:

To support student research to help offset expenses associated with their projects.

Dean’s Impact Awards:

Awards made at the discretion of the Dean.

Don Stanaway Family Scholarship:

For a non-music major participating in a UM music program, including UM Marching Band or other music ensembles; or Music minor; and Montana resident. 

DHC Wahneta Native American Global Experience Fund:

To support Native American students in the Davidson Honors College who are pursuing global experiences for academic credit, including but not limited to, study abroad programs, international exchange programs, international research, international service learning and international internships.

Drs. George C. and Kathleen Schroeder Roth Scholarship:

For students in the Davidson Honors College who are in pre-med or pre-dentistry. Renewable.

Magpie Feathers Woman Scholarship:

To encourage outstanding Montana students of Indian descent to become part of the Davidson Honors College. Students must be an enrolled member, or a descendant of an enrolled member of a Montana tribe, preference given to students from the Northern Cheyenne tribe.

Martha Bermingham Honors Scholarship:

For Montana residents with financial need as determined by the Office of Financial Aid or its equivalent in existence at the time of the award.

Martin Hinnaland Family Scholarship:

For students majoring in accounting or business.

Mickey and Jeff Sogard Honors Scholarship:

For deserving Montana students in the Davidson Honors College, as based on academic merit and financial need.

Patrick R. and Mary Kitte Robins Scholarship:

For general merit scholarships through the Davidson Honors College, based on academic excellence and discretion of dean.

Pre-Medical Scholarships:

For students enrolled in the Pre-Medical Sciences Program, with preference given to those who intend to become primary-care physicians in Montana. Preference to Montana residents. Recipients must be members in good standing of the Davidson Honors College.

Ramsbacher/Berry Honors Scholarship:

For an incoming Davidson Honors College student who exhibits great potential and who has financial need as determined by the Financial Aid Office. Renewable for three additional years provided the recipient remains in the Honors College.

Roger and Phebe Bay Endowed Scholarship:

For students who are studying abroad or pursuing an internship that fosters cross-cultural learning and exchange. Recipients are required to submit a thoughtful reflection of their experience to the dean of the Davidson Honors College.

Violet M. Boileau Memorial Scholarship:

For deserving Davidson Honors College members who plan to study abroad.

Wayne and Sallie Linnell Endowed Scholarship:

For graduates of a Northcentral Montana high school (defined as Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Hill, Blaine, Pondera, Chouteau, Teton, Cascade, Fergus, and Judith Basin counties), including, but not limited to, Great Falls and/or outlying communities, Sunburst, Fort Benton, Shelby, Cut Bank, Vaughn, Sims, and Cascade. Selection based on academic merit and financial need as determined by the Office of Financial Aid need analysis. Renewable.

Wild Rockies Field Institute:

Scholarships to support summer or semester-long study with the Wild Rockies Field Institute.

DHC-Coordinated Scholarships

  • Open to all eligible UM students 
  • Complete general UM scholarship application to view all scholarships based on eligibility

Dan Lauren Honors Discovery Scholarship: 

This scholarship is for students who did not apply to, nor are attending, the Davidson Honors College as incoming freshmen, but who discovered their potential, and who have proven themselves to be highly capable students during their first year at the University of Montana.  The scholarship shall be for their second (sophomore) year, majoring in computer science or math. Students should have a GPA of 3.4 or higher. Each award will be $2,500.

The Watkins Scholarship: 

The Watkins Scholarship Program awards $2,000 to up to ten seniors per year, and is open to all UM-Missoula students. All applicants must anticipate attaining senior status (at least 90 credits) by autumn semester of the scholarship award period; have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.4 or higher at the time of application; and plan on working on a senior research project or creative activity that will be directed by a faculty member in the College of Humanities and Sciences. All students who complete a research project funded by a Watkins Scholarship are required to submit an electronic copy of their thesis or final research paper to the Mansfield Library through ScholarWorks.

Dailey Study Abroad Scholarships: 

The University of Montana offers up to two Dailey Study Abroad Scholarships of $1,500 in support of a full-year study abroad program in a country where English is not commonly spoken. All undergraduates at the University of Montana-Missoula are eligible to apply, and preference shall be given to individuals who graduated from a Montana high school.

The Jane Buttrey Memorial Scholarship: 

The Davidson Honors College awards up to ten Jane Buttrey Memorial Scholarships each year to outstanding Juniors who demonstrate both academic excellence and financial need. These awards typically range in value from $1,000 to $1,500.  This scholarship is open to all University of Montana-Missoula students who meet the scholarship criteria.  All applicants must attain Junior status (60-90 credits) by autumn semester of their scholarship year; major or minor in the humanities or social sciences in the College of Arts and Sciences; have earned a cumulative GPA of at least 3.4 at the time of application, and demonstrate financial need. The 2021 application deadline will be announced, and scholarships will be awarded for the following academic year.