NALSA National Moot Court

Prof. Maylinn Smith/Prof. Monte Mills

In the Native American Law Student Association competition, two-person teams argue cases on topics chosen from among a variety of legal issues involving Native American rights and concerns. UM team members are selected by a competitive process. Members must be second or third year law students in good academic standing (2.3 GPA) and have taken or be enrolled in Indian Law. NALSA Moot Court members receive two credits in the Spring Semester for the appropriate section of Law 699.

Erin Shanley, Brooke Baracker, Nicole Ducheneaux, and Mark Jette

Congratulations to the two 2006 NALSA Moot Court Teams! The team of Nicole Ducheneaux and Mark Jette placed fourth out of 38 teams. The team of Brooke Baracker and Erin Shanley made it to the final 16.

2004 NALSA TeamThe 2004 Team, Amy Sings In The Timber and Susan Stahle, coached by Professor Raymond Cross and Professor Maylinn Smith, placed second in the nation. The 1997 Team, Sharon Noel and Kristen Romao, also placed second in the nation.