Students, Faculty Receive Recognition for 2017-2018 Academic Year

Student Awards

During the 2018 Graduation Ceremony, Professor Hillary Wandler, Associate Dean of Students, recognized graduates as recipients of the following awards:

  • JOHN P. ACHER AWARD to recognize Outstanding Achievement - Emily Gutierrez Caton
  • CLINICAL LEGAL EDUCATION OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARD for excellence in field work and excellence in the seminar component of the clinic - Chelsea Bissell
  • EDWARD A. CREMER AWARD for the best Research paper in the field of Environmental Law - John Acher Byorth and Kirsa Shelkey
  • DEAN'S AWARD for recognition of Student Leadership - Sara Nicole Snow Kottke
  • FRAN ELGE AWARD for recognition of demonstrated commitment to human equality - Lillian Marie Alvernaz
  • WILLIAM S. FROST AND MAYLINN SMITH AWARD to acknowledge a strong commitment and enthusiasm for protecting and enhancing the rights of Indian peoples and Tribes - John Acher Byorth
  • NORMAN HANSON LEGAL WRITING AWARD for the best appellate brief in Appellate Advocacy - Lincoln Palmer
  • INTERNATIONAL ACADEMY OF TRIAL LAWYERS STUDENT ADVOCACY AWARD for students who demonstrate an overall ability in trial advocacy by high achievement in trial practice, evidence, and pleading and procedure courses - Jenna Penielle Lyons and Jake Schwaller
  • JUSTIN MILLER AWARD for outstanding leadership of the Montana Law Review - Erik Michael Anderson and Emily Gutierrez Caton
  • CAROL MITCHELL AWARD for demonstrated excellence in the study and practice of Alternative Dispute Resolution - Jayme J. Hill and Nicholas D. Connor
  • ORDER OF BARRISTERS for outstanding achievement in Appellate Advocacy - Chelsea Bissell, John Acher Byorth, Jesse Flickinger, Benjamin J. Langford, Cory Losing, Jody Lowenstein and Rachel Glenn Pannabecker
  • OUTSTANDING LAW STUDENT AWARD awarded by the Student Bar Association - Lillian Marie Alvernaz
  • PHI DELTA PHI AWARD awarded to an outstanding senior by the Phi Delta Phi fraternity - Asa Hohman
  • EXCEPTIONAL PRO BONO LEGAL SERVICES AWARD to recognize exceptional volunteer legal services as a law student - Jayme J. Hill

Faculty & Staff Awards

At a reception prior to the 2018 Graduation Ceremony, Dean Paul Kirgis recognized faculty and staff as recipients of the following awards:

  • THOMAS H. AND ANN BOONE LAW FACULTY AWARD for demonstrating excellence in scholarship - Professor Pippa Browde
  • MARGERY HUNTER BROWN FACULTY MERIT AWARD for exemplifying the spirit of professionalism and professorial qualities for which Margery Hunter Brown was so well known - Professor Jordan Gross
  • JAMES C. GARLINGTON TEACHING AWARD supported by Garlington, Lohn & Robinson for demonstrating excellence in teaching - Professor Sam Panarella
  • HOWARD W. AND JANE S. HEMAN MEMORIAL LAW FACULTY AWARD to an outstanding professor in the field of law - Professor Anthony Johnstone
  • LAW SCHOOL MERIT AWARD for exemplary contributions to the School of Law - Professor Sally Weaver
  • ROBERT AND PAULINE POORE LAW FACULTY SERVICE AWARD for service to the profession and public that is particularly noteworthy - Professor Eduardo Capulong
  • ADJUNCT FACULTY TEACHING AWARD for demonstrating excellence in teaching - Heidi Fanslow
  • STAFF ACHIEVEMENT AWARD for outstanding service to the School of Law - Geri Sturgill