Students, Faculty Receive Recognition for 2018-2019 Academic Year

Student Awards

During the 2019 Graduation Ceremony, Professor Sally Weaver, Associate Dean of Students, recognized graduates as recipients of the following awards:

  • JOHN P. ACHER AWARD to recognize Outstanding Achievement - Jennifer Pepprock Shannon
  • EMMETT C. ANGLAND AWARD for demonstrated conviction and concern in the rendition of Legal Services - Jaclyn Ruth Van Natta
  • J MARTIN BURKE AWARD for excellence in clinical studies - Zachary Alan Hixson and Brielle Lande
  • CLINICAL LEGAL EDUCATION OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARD for excellence in field work and excellence in the seminar component of the clinic - Craig McCormack
  • EDWARD A. CREMER AWARD for the best Research paper in the field of Environmental Law - Peter B. Taylor
  • DEAN'S AWARD for recognition of Student Leadership - Summer Carmack 
  • FRAN ELGE AWARD for recognition of demonstrated commitment to human equality - Caity Zimmerman
  • WILLIAM S. FROST AND MAYLINN SMITH AWARD to acknowledge a strong commitment and enthusiasm for protecting and enhancing the rights of Indian peoples and Tribes - Sabrina Kay Currie and Naomi M. Whitehead
  • GROWTH MINDSET AWARD to recognize significant growth in competence in a clinical law placement - Jacob Monico Trujillo
  • NORMAN HANSON LEGAL WRITING AWARD for the best appellate brief in Appellate Advocacy - Sydney Elizabeth Best
  • INTERNATIONAL ACADEMY OF TRIAL LAWYERS STUDENT ADVOCACY AWARD for students who demonstrate an overall ability in trial advocacy by high achievement in trial practice, evidence, and pleading and procedure courses - William Terrence Casey, III and Caitlin Catherine Creighton
  • JUSTIN MILLER AWARD for outstanding leadership of the Montana Law Review - Kirsi Elizabeth Luther and Victoria Nickol
  • CAROL MITCHELL AWARD for demonstrated excellence in the study and practice of Alternative Dispute Resolution - Nancy Clark and Jasmine Morton
  • ORDER OF BARRISTERS for outstanding achievement in Appellate Advocacy - Nathan Burke, Lowell Jack Chandler, Ashton Jackson, Kirsi Elizabeth Luther, Erin M. Lyndes, Rebecca Newsom, and Calder Thingvold
  • OUTSTANDING LAW STUDENT AWARD awarded by the Student Bar Association - Lowell Jack Chandler and Christine Marie Hutchison
  • EXCEPTIONAL PRO BONO LEGAL SERVICES AWARD to recognize exceptional volunteer legal services as a law student - Jaclyn Ruth Van Natta
  • PAUL RAFTERY AWARD awarded for exceptional dedication and diligence in their approach to clinical work - Oliver Wood

Faculty & Staff Awards

At a reception prior to the 2019 Graduation Ceremony, Dean Paul Kirgis recognized faculty and staff as recipients of the following awards:

  • THOMAS H. AND ANN BOONE LAW FACULTY AWARD for demonstrating excellence in scholarship - Professor Sandi Zellmer
  • MARGERY HUNTER BROWN FACULTY MERIT AWARD for exemplifying the spirit of professionalism and professorial qualities for which Margery Hunter Brown was so well known - Professor Monte Mills
  • JAMES C. GARLINGTON TEACHING AWARD supported by Garlington, Lohn & Robinson for demonstrating excellence in teaching - Professor Hillary Wandler
  • HOWARD W. AND JANE S. HEMAN MEMORIAL LAW FACULTY AWARD to an outstanding professor in the field of law - Professor Jon Byington
  • LAW SCHOOL MERIT AWARD for exemplary contributions to the School of Law - Professors Anthony Johnstone and Cathay Smith
  • ROBERT AND PAULINE POORE LAW FACULTY SERVICE AWARD for service to the profession and public that is particularly noteworthy - Professor Elaine Gagliardi
  • ADJUNCT FACULTY TEACHING AWARD for demonstrating excellence in teaching - Randy Bishop
  • STAFF ACHIEVEMENT AWARD for outstanding service to the School of Law - Maria Mangold