Law School Announces 2020 Graduation Awards

John P. Acher Award

To recognize outstanding achievement
Riley Wavra

Emmett C. Angland Award

For demonstrated conviction and concern in the rendition of Legal Services
Awarded by clinic
Riley Wavra

Clinical Legal Education Outstanding Student Award

For excellence in field work and excellence in the seminar component of the clinic
Ally Seneczko

Edward A. Cremer Award

For the best research paper in the field of Environmental Law

Dean's Award

For recognition of student leadership
Marthe VanSickle

Fran Elge Award

For recognition of demonstrated commitment to human equality
Dylan Jaicks

William S. Frost and Maylinn Smith Award

To acknowledge a strong commitment to, and enthusiasm for protecting and enhancing the rights of Indian peoples and Tribes
Marissa Mahkuk Compton

Norman Hanson Legal Writing Award

For the best appellate brief in appellate advocacy
Joe Weaver

International Academy of Trial Lawyers Student Advocacy Award

For students who demonstrate an overall ability in trial advocacy by high achievement in trial practice, evidence, and pleading and procedure courses
Lacey Fortin and Marthe VanSickle

Eddye McClure Award

Given by the Indian law section of the State Bar
Victoria Parker

Justin Miller Award

For outstanding leadership of the Montana Law Review
Britton Fraser and Riley Wavra

Carol Mitchell Award

For demonstrated excellence in the study and practice of alternative dispute resolution
Brittney Mada

Order of the Barristers

For outstanding achievement in appellate advocacy
Typically award up to eight students, historically using combination of competition performance and GPA to break ties
Elliott McGill, Rebekah Gryder, Holly Suek, Allison Barnwell, Brent Mead, Thomas Mooney-Myers

Outstanding Law Student Award

Awarded by the Student Bar Association
Brittney Mada

Exceptional Pro Bono Legal Services Award

To recognize exceptional volunteer legal services as a law student
Brittney Mada

Paul Raftery Award

Awarded for exceptional dedication and diligence in their approach to clinical work
Brittney Mada

J. Martin Burke Award

For excellence in clinical studies
Marshall Anderson

Growth Mindset Award

For significant growth in competence in a clinical law placement
Alicia Kelly

Margaret (Peggy) Tonon Law Scholarship 2VW

Van Gillette