About

University Marketing and Communications serves the public and the University of Montana by distributing accurate and timely information about UM, producing useful and interesting publications, and enhancing the UM brand and overall image of higher education through outreach, marketing activities, e-communications and social media. The sector's offices are located on the first and second floors of Brantly Hall. 

The Marketing and Communications sector includes Trademarks and Licensing and the Broadcast Media Center (public radio and public television). In addition, this sector ensures the University has a coordinated marketing and communications approach with Intercollegiate Athletics and the University of Montana Foundation. 

Sector Staff

Our professional staff includes journalists, photographers, videographers, web developers, broadcast media specialists, publications specialists and social media content producers.   

Vice President of Marketing and Communications 

Jenny Petty, vice president of marketing and communications, jenny.petty@umontana.edu. 406-243-2522 

Strategic Communications 

Dave Kuntz, director of strategic communications, dave.kuntz@umontana.edu. 406-243-5659

Cary Shimek, associate director of the UM News Service, cary.shimek@umontana.edu. 406-243-5914

Raequel Roberts, news editor, raequel.roberts@umontana.edu. 281-220-7429 

Kyle Spurr, communications manager, kyle.spurr@umontana.edu, 406-243-2071

Creative Services

Jenny Lavey, director of content and creative strategy, Montanan magazine editor-in-chief, jenny.lavey@umontana.edu. 406-243-2488 

Shauna Layton, art director, graphic designer, shauna.layton@umontana.edu. 406-243-5478

Tommy Martino, photographer, tommy.martino@umontana.edu. 406-243-6654

Todd Goodrich, photographer, todd.goodrich@umontana.edu. 406-243-4825

Andy Kemmis, digital marketing lead and photographer, andy.kemmis@umontana.edu. 406-243-4674 

Ian Frank, digital storyteller and videographer, ian.frank@umontana.edu. 406-243-4021

Brand Strategy and Management 

Erika Palmer, director of trademarks and licensing, erika.palmer@umontana.edu. 406-243-2317 

Andy Chapman, director of brand strategy, andrew.chapman@umontana.edu

Karen Schlatter, brand and student experience manager, karen.schlatter@umontana.edu

Digital Marketing 

Stephanie Geyer, director of digital strategy and innovation, stephanie.geyer@umontana.edu.

Jen Sauer, associate director of marketing, jen.sauer@umontana.edu. 406-243-4878 

Tony Layton, marketing analyst, tony.layton@umontana.edu. 406-243-6651 

Enrollment Management 

Sydney Hovenkotter, associate director of enrollment management, sydney.hovenkotter@mso.umt.edu. 406-243-5174