Pantzer Award

Call for Nominations

Robert T. Pantzer Presidential Humanitarian Award 2020

The Robert T. Pantzer Presidential Humanitarian Award is granted annually to a person from the University of Montana or the State of Montana who has contributed substantially to making the University a more open and humane learning environment.

The award honors Robert T. Pantzer, President of the University from 1966 to 1974, whose open door policy was a hallmark of his administration, and who provided outstanding leadership in the preservation of unfettered academic inquiry and expression.

The Pantzer Award will be presented at a University of Montana awards and recognition event in spring 2020 (details forthcoming).

Nominations should include:

  • the nominee's professional resume
  • a letter that demonstrates, using specific examples, how the nominee fits the criteria
  • additional letters of support that further demonstrate how the nominee fits the criteria (optional)

Past nominations may be reactivated by request and by providing additional or updated information.

Nominations are by midnight, Monday, December 9, 2019.

Please address letters of nomination and support to Jon Harbor, Provost, Chair, Pantzer Award Committee.

Submit your nomination

Past Pantzer Award Recipients

2019    Elizabeth Ametsbichler*
2018    Steve Schwarze*
2017    Jasmine Laine*
2016    Deena Mansour*
2015    Stephen Kalm*
2014    Kimber McKay*
2013    Larry Gianchetta*
2012    Terry Weidner*
2011    Ray Carlisle*
2010    Kenneth A. Welt*
2009    Phil Condon*
2008    Casey Charles*
2007    Harry Fritz*
2006    Paul Lauren*
2005    Tom Roy*
2004    Roberta Evans*
2003    Erling Oelz*
2002    David Forbes*
2001    Melanie Hoell*
2000    James Marks*
1999    Paul Blomgren*
1998    Helen Guthrie (Gus) Miller
1997    Bonnie HeavyRunner (Craig)*
1996    E. W. (Burt) Pfeiffer*
1995    J. Martin Burke*
1994    Keith Osterheld*
1993    James Flightner*
1992    George McRae*
1991    John O. Mudd*
1990    Margaret C. Kingsland*
            & Leonard W. Brewer
1989    Robert B. Curry*
1988    Margery H. Brown*
1987    no award given
1986    Thomas Payne*
1985    John Stewart*
1984    Paul Chumrau
1983    Fred Henningsen*
1982    Gene Donaldson
1981    Jack Dietrich
1980    Eugene Andrie*
1979    Emma Lommasson*
1978    K. Ross Toole*
1977    Alex Stepanzoff
1976    Vince Wilson*
1975    George Sarsfield

* denotes a UM faculty or staff member