NCURA Peer Review

Final Report

If you have questions or comments, please contact Judy Fredenberg

Background and Earlier Information

On October 10-12,2011, The University of Montana hosted three nationally-recognized research administrators who conducted  a peer review as part of the National Council of University Research Administrators (NCURA) peer review program.  

This review, similar in nature to an academic program review, was done to ensure that UM is appropriately organized to advance excellence in research and creative accomplishments with the University community.

The review utilized National Standards developed by NCURA.  The Standards represent indicators of effective operations in the areas of:

  • Proposal Services
  • Award Acceptance and Initiation
  • Award Management
  • Research Ethics
  • Organizational Structure and Staffing
  • Communications, Outreach, and Education
  • Compliance and Risk Assessment
  • Electronic Research Administration

Briefing Book

A lengthy and detailed briefing book was prepared for the reviewers containing:


  • VP Dwyer’s Charge Letter to the Peer Review Team
  • Itinerary
  • Description of Institution, history
  • Academic disciplines
  • 2020 Strategic Plan

Research Background Information

  • Research Office Vision Statement
  • Research Office Org Chart
  • Report from the Research Strategic Planning Task Force

Institutional Infrastructure: Operational Structure and Staffing

  • Interactions with other campus entities
  • ORSP staffing (current & turnover)
  • Staff training

Institutional Infrastructure: Communication, Outreach, Education

  • Communication with faculty and others
  • Education of faculty and others

Institutional Infrastructure:  Risk Assessment and Electronic Research Administration

  • Compliance and risk assessment
  • Electronic research administration

Core Operations: Proposal Services

  • Collection and Dissemination of Funding Information
  • Proposal Development and Assistance
  • Proposal Review and Submission
  • Collaborative Project Development
  • Agency Liaison

Core Operations: Award Acceptance and Initiation

  • How is award data distributed within UM?
  • Review & negotiation of terms & conditions
  • Ancillary agreements
  • Subawards
  • Award acceptance process
  • Award activation and notification

Core Operations: Award Management

  • Fiscal management
  • Administrative management
    • Equipment
    • A-133
    • Cash handing
    • Late/uncollectible A/R
    • Recharge Centers
    • High risk expenditures

Core Operations: Research Ethics

  • Project Integrity
  • Human and Animal Use
  • Biohazards, radiation safety, bioterrorism


October 9, 2011 (Sunday)

Afternoon:  NCURA Peer Review Team arrive MSO; complimentary hotel shuttle from airport to hotel

Evening:  Executive Session @ hotel – NCURA Peer Review Team

October 10, 2011 (Monday)

Transportation pick-up details:   Fredenberg will transport to/from campus

All meetings in Todd 205 

8:00 – 8:45 a.m.

Working Breakfast (at hotel) with Judy Fredenberg, Director, Research and Sponsored Programs

9:00 – 9:30 a.m.

Entrance Interview:  Vice President for Research and Development Dan Dwyer, and Sheila Hoffland, Director, VPRD Budgets and Operations

9:30 – 10:00 a.m.

Internal Audit:  Kathy Burgmeier, Director 

10:00 – 10:30 a.m.

Executive Session –  NCURA Peer Review Team

10:30 – 11:00 a.m.

IACUC: Dan Corti, IACUC Chair, and Kathy Mariucci, IACUC Coordinator

11:00 – 11:30 a.m.

IBC:  Scott Samuels, IBC Chair, and Kathy Mariucci, IBC Coordinator

11:30 – 12 noon

IRB:  Dan Corti, IRB Chair and Director, Environmental Health & Risk Management (EHRM handles all hazardous materials), and Paula Baker, IRB Coordinator

12 noon – 1:00 p.m.

Working Lunch and Executive Session – NCURA Peer Review Team

1:00 – 1:30 p.m.

UM Foundation:  Ric Thomas, VP Development; Beth Hammock, VP Strategic Communications and Marketing

1:30 – 2:15 p.m.

Compliance (RCR, COI, Misconduct, Export Control):  Claudia Denker, Associate Legal Counsel

2:15 – 2:45 p.m.

Executive Session –  NCURA Peer Review Team

2:45 – 3:30 p.m.

Chairs/Directors:  Richard Bridges, Chair, Biomedical & Pharmaceutical Sciences; Mark Cracolice, Chair, Chemistry; Sarah Halvorson, Chair, Geography;  William Marcus, Director, Broadcast Media; Mike Mitchell, Director, Montana Cooperative Wildlife Unit; Johnnie Moore, Chair, Geosciences; Andrew Ware, Chair, Physics & Astronomy

3:30 – 3:45 p.m.

Executive Session –  NCURA Peer Review Team

3:45 – 4:45 p.m.

Research Faculty:  Bruce Bowler, Chemistry; Kari Harris, Public & Community Health Sciences; Andrij Holian, Biomedical/ Pharmaceutical Sciences; Todd Morgan, Bureau of Business and Economic Research; Anna Prentiss, Anthropology; Jim Riddering, Forestry & Conservation; Brent Ruby, Health & Human Performance; Tom Seekins, Rural Institute on Disabilities

October 11 (Tuesday)

Transportation pick-up details:   Fredenberg will transport to/from campus

 All meetings in Todd 205, except the PI Open Forum (10 a.m.) and the ORSP Team (1:15 p.m.) which will be in Todd 210 

8:30 – 9:00 a.m.

Administration & Finance:  Rosi Keller, Associate Vice President 

9:00 –9:45 a.m.

Business Services:  Mark Pullium, Director, John McCormick, Associate Director, and Dan Jenko, Assistant Director

9:45 – 10:00 a.m.

Executive Session –  NCURA Peer Review Team

10:00 – 11:00 a.m.

PI Open Forum (TODD 210) – Open call, attendee list to be provided

11:00 – 11:30 a.m.

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Perry Brown

11:30 – 12 noon

Executive Session –  NCURA Peer Review Team

12 noon – 1:00 p.m.

Working Lunch – Departmental research support staff:  Teri Daniels, Division of Biological Sciences; Christine Foster, Geosciences; Leona Hastings, Institute for Education Research & Service; Paulette Jones, Center for Environmental Health Sciences; Kate Pennacchio, Biomedical /Pharmaceutical Sciences; Jodi Todd, College of Forestry and Conservation

1:00 – 1:15 p.m.

Executive Session –  NCURA Peer Review Team

1:15 – 3:45 p.m.

ORSP Team (TODD 210):  Terri Coslet (pre), Patty Haisch (pre/post), Catherine Hogan (pre);  Colleen Hunter (post), Kathy Lundman (subaward); Ann Martin (post), Laura Plute (pre/post); Maureen Price (post), Joe Rasmussen (pre/post), Peggy Roberts (pre/post); Indy Singh (post), Joni Waldrup (admin/cashier); Mona Weer (fiscal services); John Wills (pre/post)

3:45 – 4:00 p.m.

Executive Session –  NCURA Peer Review Team

4:00 – 4:30 p.m.

Information Technology:  Loey Knapp, Interim CIO, Lorrie Deyott, Computer Support Specialist


October 12, 2011 (Wednesday)

Transportation pick-up details:   Fredenberg will transport to/from campus

 All meetings in Todd 205 

8:30 – 9:00 a.m.

President Royce Engstrom

9:00 – 10:00 a.m.

Deans:  Chris Comer, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Jim Burchfield, Dean, College of Forestry & Conservation; Bobbie Evans, Dean, College of Education and Human Sciences; Dave Forbes, Dean, College of Biomedical & Pharmaceutical Sciences; Vernon Grund, Associate Dean, College of Biomedical & Pharmaceutical Sciences; Charles Janson, Associate Dean, Division of Biological Sciences; Stephen Kalm, Visual & Performing Arts; Jenny McNulty, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

10:00 – 11:00 a.m.

Executive Session –  NCURA Peer Review Team

11:00 – 12:00 noon

Exit Interview:  Dan Dwyer, Vice President for Research, Sheila Hoffland, Director, VPRD Budgets and Operations, and Judy Fredenberg, Director, ORSP 


12:00 noon


Peer Review Team depart MSO; complimentary hotel shuttle from hotel to airport OR Fredenberg will transport to airport.