About Us

The University of Montana Staff Senate facilitates communication and cooperation between the administration and the non-academic staff of The University of Montana including the Mountain Campus, Missoula College, and the Bitterroot Campus. We promote and work for improved working conditions and the professional welfare of UM's non-academic staff - the Heart of the Grizzly.

Staff Senate is comprised of thirty elected members of the UM classified staff.  Senators are elected from each of the five categories of classified staff:  Professional, Clerical, Service, Technical and Crafts.  Senators are elected to two-year terms.

Each Staff Senator serves on at least one Staff Senate committee and one University Committee, as needed, and reports committee actions to the Staff Senate to keep the UM staff updated on University activities.

The Senate has monthly two-hour meetings to discuss general business. Any classified staff member is welcome to attend any of these meetings.  Meetings are usually held on the second Wednesday of each month from 10 a.m. - Noon.

For more information about Staff Senate, contact the Staff Senate office: (406)243-5422 or staffsenate@mso.umt.edu.