Micro-Credentials

Woman at her computer studying a microcredential for work. Text in the top right corner provides a quote: "Micro-Credentials are a digital form of certification indicating demonstrated competency or mastery in a specific skill or set of skills" - National Education Association.

UM Online at the University of Montana believes in providing a world-class education that gives you an edge in today's ever-changing working economy. We want to increase your ability to master any skill set that you need to be successful with the support of a whole community behind you.

Micro-Credentials are efficient, flexible, affordable and are taught with that world-renowned quality you love about UM. Whether you are a new student or a seasoned professional looking to sharpen your skills, we encourage you to explore our offerings that can help you reach your goals. 

We provide the support and knowledge,

               ...and you stay "tomorrow proof."

Microcredentials

Job Site Ready is a micro-credential available at Missoula College’s Sustainable Construction Technology department.

For more information please contact John Freer, Program Director at (406) 243-7668 or john.freer@mso.umt.edu.

Career Readiness is a micro-credential available at Missoula College.

For more information please contact Michelle Boller, Business Technology Department Chair at (406) 243-7877 or michelle.boller@umontana.edu.

Health Professions Essentials is a micro-credential available at Missoula College’s Department of Health Professions.

For more information please contact Dan Funsch, Health Professions Department Chair at (406) 243-7851 or dan.funsch@umontana.edu.

Culinary Arts Fundamentals is a micro-credential available at Missoula College’s Big Sky Culinary Institute.

For more information please contact Aimee Elliott, Big Sky Culinary Institute Program Director at (406) 243-7880 or aimee.elliott@umontana.edu.

Introduction to Culinary Medicine is a micro-credential available at University of Montana’s College of Health.

For more information please contact Michael Fenster, M.D. at michael.fenster@mso.umt.edu.

Nonprofit Leadership and Development is a micro-credential available at the University of Montana’s Department of Public Administration and Policy and the Montana Nonprofit Association.

For more information contact Sara Rinfret, Department of Public Administration and Policy Department Chair at (406) 243-4702 or sara.rinfret@umontana.edu.

Digital Badges

Inter-professional Practice Skills is a digital badge available at University of Montana’s College of Health and the Western Montana Area Health Education Center (AHEC).

For more information please contact Molly Molloy, AHEC Director at molly.molloy@mso.umt.edu.

Faculty Information

If you are faculty and would like to offer a micro-credential, please review our Micro-Credential Information for Faculty.

Digital Badge FAQS

Have questions about digital badges? Please visit our Digital Badge FAQ webpage.