Presidential Leadership Scholarships (PLS)

The Presidential Leadership Scholarship is the University of Montana’s premier freshman scholarship. Presidential Scholars are chosen solely on academic merit with scholarships being renewable for a total of four years. Approximately 25 PLS awards are made each year to incoming freshman.

PLS recipients cannot receive tuition designated scholarships in excess of tuition. Usually, non-resident students awarded the LAS or WSS are able to retain their scholarship in addition to the waiver of in-state tuition because the combination does not exceed tuition. Resident students who are awarded UM's Montana Academic Achievement Scholarship (MAA) are not able to retain these as they are also tuition designated. MT residents cannot receive the tuition waiver associated with the PLS and the MUS Honors Scholarship so should accept the MUS Honors Scholarship because of its portability.


Generally, PLS applicants are expected to meet the following minimum requirements:

  • A cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, and
  • An ACT composite score of 27, or
  • An SAT composite score of 1800 (if taken before 2016), or
  • An SAT composite score of 1270 (if taken in 2016 or later)

Application Procedure:

Applications are available through the Davidson Honors College.