School Administration

Dr. Stephen Kalm, Dean CVPA

Dean, CVPA

Dr. Stephen Kalm

(406) 243-4970 kalms@mso.umt.edu

Dr. Maxine Ramey, Director

Director

Dr. Maxine Ramey

(406) 243-6880 maxine.ramey@umontana.edu

Music Faculty

Area Chair

Basinski, Prof. AnneProfessor, Director, UM Opera Theater & Undergraduate Voice Area
Office: MUS010 | anne.basinski@umontana.edu

Cavanaugh, Dr. Jennifer: Woodwind Area Chair; Associate Professor of Oboe & Bassoon, Theory
Office: MUS110 | jennifer.cavanaugh@umontana.edu

Cooper, Dr.  Zachary Theory Area Chair; Assistant Professor of Music Theory/Horn
Office: MUS012 | zachary.cooper@umontana.edu

Glass, Prof. Fern: Strings Area Chair; Professor of Cello
Office: MUS111 | fern.glass@umontana.edu

Gray, Dr. Lori; Division Chair & Professor of Music Education;Music Education Specialist
Office: MUS204B | lori.gray@umontana.edu

Hesla, Prof. Steven: Keyboard Area Chair
Office: MUS107 | steven.hesla@umontana.edu  

LeBell, Dr. Emilie: Composition Area Chair
Office:  MUS203 | emilie.lebel@umontana.edu

LedBetter, Dr. Robert: Brass/Percussion Area Coordinator; Percussion
Office: MUS009 | robert.ledbetter@umontana.edu 

Music faculty do not have a direct line in their office. The best way to get ahold of faculty is via email or by calling the Music Office at (406) 243-6880 and leave a message.

Directors

Edmonds, Dr. David: Director of Choral Studies
Office:  MUS209 | david.edmonds@umontana.edu 

Griggs, Dr. Kevin: Associate Director of Bands, Director of Athletic Bands
Office:  MUS003 | kevin.griggs@umontana.edu 

LedBetter, Dr. Robert: Director of Percussion Studies; Percussion
Office: MUS009 | robert.ledbetter@umontana.edu 

Millán, Dr. Luis: Director of Orchestra, Director of Classical Guitar Studio; Guitar
Office: MUS113 | luis.millan@umontana.edu 

Smart, Dr. James: Director of Bands, Director of UM Symphony Ensemble;Trumpet
Office: MUS112 | james.smart@umontana.edu 

Tapper, Prof. Robert; Director of Jazz; Trombone
Office: MUS013 | robert.tapper@umontana.ede  

Music faculty do not have a direct line in their office. The best way to get ahold of faculty is via email or by calling the Music Office at (406) 243-6880 and leave a message.

Faculty

Baldridge, Prof. Margaret: Strings Area Chair; Professor of Violin, Viola
Office: MUS206 | margaret.baldridge@umontana.edu

Basinski, Prof. Anne: Professor, School of Music - Director, UM Opera Theater - Director, Undergraduate Voice Area
Office: MUS010 | anne.basinski@umontana.edu

Cavanaugh, Dr. Jennifer: Woodwind Area Chair; Associate Professor of Oboe & Bassoon, Theory
Office: MUS211 | jennifer.cavanaugh@umontana.edu

Cody, Prof.  David: Voice, Opera, Musical Theatre
Office: MUS106 | david.cody@umontana.edu

Cooper, Dr. Zachary Horn/Theory
Office: MUS012 | zachary.cooper@umontana.edu

Edmonds, Dr. David: Director of Choral Studies
Office:  MUS209 | david.edmonds@umontana.edu

Eriksson, Dr. Johan: Assistant Professor of Saxophone and Jazz Studies
Office: MUS211 | johan.eriksson@umontana.edu

Glass Boyd, Prof. FernCello, Music Literature
Office:  MUS111fern.glass@umontana.edu

Gray, Dr. Lori: Division Chair & Professor of Music Education;Music Education Specialist
Office: MUS204B | lori.gray@umontana.edu

Griggs, Dr. Kevin: Associate Director of Bands, Director of Athletic Bands
Office:  MUS003 | kevin.griggs@umontana.edu

Hahn, Dr. Christopher: Professor of Piano and Piano Pedagogy
Office:  MUS207 | christopher.hahn@umontana.edu

Hesla, Prof. Steven: Keyboard Area Chair
Office: MUS107 | steven.hesla@umontana.edu

James, Dr. Kimberly: Associate Professor, Voice; Coordinator, MM Vocal Performance Program
Office:  MUS212 | kimberly.james@umontana.edu

Kalm, Dr. Stephen: Dean of College of Visual and Performing Arts
Phone:  (406) 243-4970 | Office:  PARTV110 | stephen.kalm@umontana.edu 

Kirkpatrick, Dr. Christopher: Assistant Professor of Clarinet
Office:  MUS110| christopher1.kirkpatrick@umontana.edu

LeBell, Dr. Emilie: Composition
Office:  MUS203 | emilie.lebel@umontana.edu

LedBetter, Dr.  Robert: Director of Percussion Studies; Percussion
Office: MUS009 | robert.ledbetter@umontana.edu

Millán, Dr. Luis: Director of Orchestra, Director of Classical Guitar Studio; Guitar
Office: MUS113 | luis.millan@umontana.edu

Ramey, Dr. Maxine: Director, School of Music
Office: MUS102 | maxine.ramey@umontan.edu

Randall, Dr. James: Associate Professor of Music History
Office: MUS214 | james.randall@umontana.edu

Schuberg, Prof.  Margaret: Professor of Flute
Office: MUS213 | margaret.schuberg@umontana.edu

Smart, Dr. James: Director of Bands, Director of UM Symphony Ensemble;Trumpet
Office: MUS112 | james.smart@umontana.edu

Tapper, Prof. Robert: Director of Jazz; Trombone
Office: MUS013 | robert.tapper@umontana.edu

Music faculty do not have a direct line in their office. The best way to get ahold of faculty is via email or by calling the Music Office at (406) 243-6880 and leave a message.

Adjuncts

Brandt, JeffThe Unprofessor - History of Rock & Roll
Office:  MUS219 | jeff.brandt@umontana.edu 

Cooper, Nancy Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music
Office:  MUS214 | nancy.cooper@umontana.edu 

Driscoll, John: Adjunct Assistant Professor of Brass
Office:  MUS 101 | john.driscoll@umontana.edu

James, Creighton: Voice
Doesn't keep regular office | creighton.james@umontana.edu 

Kirby, Benedict: Adjunct Prof. of Tuba & Euphonium
Office:  MUS109 | benedict.kirby@umontana.edu

Pertis, Thomas: Adjunct Assistant Professor of Guitar
Office: MUS108 | thomas.pertis@umontana.edu 

Plummer, Bren: Strings
Office: MUS109 | bren.plummer@umontana.edu

Smart, Amy: Country Music On-line
Doesn't keep regular office | amy.smart@umontana.edu 

Music faculty do not have a direct line in their office. The best way to get ahold of faculty is via email or by calling the Music Office at (406) 243-6880 and leave a message.

Staff

Teresa Gray, Administrative Associate
Phone:  (406) 243-6882 | Office:  MUSI 101 | teresa.gray@umontana.edu

Cheri Ferguson, Promotions Coordinator
Phone:  (406) 243-4970 | Office:  PARTV 110 | cheri.ferguson@umontana.edu