Academic Calendar 2018-19

Dates listed below are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in registration instructions.

UM students taking coursework at campuses other than UM's Mountain, Missoula College, or Bitterroot College Program campuses should consult that campus' academic calendar. 

Autumn Semester 2018

Dated Description
Wednesday-Friday, August 22-24 New Student Orientation
Monday, August 27 Autumn Semester Begin Classes
Monday, September 3 Labor Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Tuesday, November 6 Election Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, November 12 Veterans Day Observed - No Classes, Offices Closed
Wednesday, November 21 Student Travel Day - No Classes
Thursday-Friday, November 22-23 Thanksgiving Break - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, December 7 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, December 10-14 Final Exams
Saturday, December 15 Fall Commencement

Spring Semester 2019

Dated Description
Monday-Wednesday, January 7-9 New Student Orientation
Thursday, January 10 Spring Semester Begin Classes
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King Jr. Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, February 18 Presidents' Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday-Friday, March 25-29 Spring Break - No Classes
Friday, April 26 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, April 29-May 3 Final Exams
Saturday, May 4 Commencement

Summer Semester 2019

Summer sessions are offered in 3-week, 6-week and 12-week formats. All sessions are being offered May 6 or 13. See below for the start dates of all summer sessions. For more information, visit the UMSummer website .

Dated  12- week Summer Session Description
Monday, May 13 Begin for 12-week Session Classes
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday-Friday, July 1-5 No Classes
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, August 9 Last Day of Classes for 12-week Session

 

Dated 6-week Summer Sessions Description
Monday, May 13 Classes Begin for 6-week Session I
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, June 21 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session
Monday, July 8 Begin for 6-week Session II Classes
Friday, August 16 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session II

 

Dated 3-week Summer Sessions Description
Monday, May 6 Classes Begin for 3-week Pre-Session
Friday, May 24 Last day of classes for 3-week Pre-Session
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Tuesday, May 28 Begin for 3-week Session II Classes
Friday, June 14 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session II
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, July 8 Begin for 3-week Session III Classes
Friday, July 26 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session III
Monday, July 29 Classes Begin for 3-week Session IV
Friday, August 16 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session IV
Saturday-Saturday, August 17-24 New Student Orientation for Autumn 2019