2020-21 Academic Calendar

For planning purposes, schedules for future academic years have been projected. Dates listed below are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in registration instructions take precedence over those listed below.

NOTE: UM students taking coursework at campuses other than UM's Mountain, Missoula College, or Bitterroot College Program campuses should consult that campus' academic calendar.

Autumn Semester 2020

Date Description
Wednesday-Friday, August 26-28 New  Student Orientation
Monday, August 31 Autumn Semester Classes Begin
Monday, September 7 Labor Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Tuesday, November 3 Election Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Wednesday, November 11 Veterans Day Observed – No Classes, Offices Closed
Wednesday, November 25 Student Travel Day – No Classes
Thursday-Friday, November 26-27 Thanksgiving Break – No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, December 11 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, December 14-18 Final Exams
Saturday, December 19 Fall Commencement

Spring Semester 2021

Date Description
Wednesday-Friday, January 6-8 New Student Orientation
Monday, January 11 Spring Semester Classes Begin
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, February 15 Presidents' Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday-Friday, March 15-19 Spring Break - No Classes
Friday, April 30 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, May 3-7 Final Exams
Saturday, May 8 Spring Commencement

Summer Semester 2021

Date Description
Monday, May 10 Classes Begin for 3-week Session I
Monday, May 17 Classes Begin for 12-week Session and 6-week Session I
Friday, May 28 Last day of classes for 3-week Session I
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Tuesday, June 1 Classes Begin for 3-week Session II
Friday, June 18 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session II
Friday, June 25 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session I
Monday, July 5 Independence Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Tuesday, July 6 Classes Begin for 6-week Session II and 3-week Session III
Friday, July 23 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session III
Monday, July 26 Classes Begin for 3-week Session IV
Friday, August 6 Last Day of Classes for 12-week Session
Friday, August 13 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session II and 3-week Session IV
Wednesday-Friday, August 25-27 New Student Orientation for Autumn 2021