Phyllis J. Washington College of Education

The Phyllis J. Washington College of Education has three academic departments: Counseling, Educational Leadership, and Teaching & Learning. We are also home to five specialty units: the University of Montana Safe Schools Center, the National Native Children's Trauma Center (NNCTC), the Learning and Belonging (LAB) School, the Institute for Early Childhood Education, and the Montana Digital Academy (MTDA).

The College shapes professional individuals who become the teachers and do-ers of our society. Our individual departments play key roles in a comprehensive system for producing and disseminating knowledge that directly benefits people and our communities.

News and Highlights

More Updates

Video: The Phyllis J. Washington College of Education

The University of Montana acknowledges that we are in the aboriginal territories of the Salish and Kalispel people. We honor the path they have always shown us in caring for this place for the generations to come.

Es mistéʔes qe es lʔ, ci łu l ,T,atʔ̓ ayaqn u Qlispélixʷ sqlixʷúʔulexʷs t Nłʔaycčstm Kʷtis Snacx̓ ̣łqe̓ ym̓ ín. Qe es putʔem łu Sqélixʷ m̓ im̓ éʔeye̓ ms x̣ʷl ,olqʷštulexʷ łu x̣ʷl ,qł sqlqelixʷ. (Salish translation by Aspen Decker)