UM Family Medicine Residency Program to Graduate 10 New Family Physicians

The sixth class of UM’s Family Medicine Residency of Western Montana will graduate June 27.

MISSOULA – Underserved and rural areas in Montana and other states will gain 10 new family medicine physicians when the University of Montana’s Family Medicine Residency of Western Montana graduates its sixth class on June 27.

“FMRWM is proud to announce the graduation of our sixth class of family medicine physicians,” said Dr. Robert Stenger, the program’s director. “Our program continues to meet its mission of providing well-trained family physicians for rural and underserved communities in Montana. This year’s graduates will enter practices in Butte, Columbia Falls, Miles City, Missoula and Ronan.”

The class of 2021 and their future practice sites are: Emily Anderson, doctor of osteopathic medicine (Ronan); Carey Downey, medical doctor (Butte); Ariel Fillmore, MD (Salt Lake City); Geoff Holman, MD (Missoula); Sarah Horne, MD (Missoula); James Jennings, DO (Oneonta, New York); Kelsey Morgosh, MD (Flagstaff, Arizona); Margie Albers, MD (Miles City); Chelsie Russig, DO (Columbia Falls); and Eric Weber, MD (to be determined).

Based in Missoula and Kalispell, FMRWM is sponsored by UM and affiliated with the University of Washington Family Medicine Residency Network. The program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. Residents are involved in continuity clinic training at Partnership Health Center in Missoula and Greater Valley Health Center in Kalispell.

The program works with an extensive rural training network at 16 sites: Barrett Hospital and HealthCare, Dillon; Blackfeet Community Hospital, Browning; Central Montana Medical Center, Lewistown; Clark Fork Valley Hospital, Plains; Community Hospital of Anaconda; Deer Lodge Medical Center; Eureka Healthcare, North Valley Hospital; Madison Valley Medical Center, Ennis; Marcus Daly Memorial Hospital, Hamilton; Northwest Community Health Center, Libby; Providence St. Joseph Medical Center, Polson; Ruby Valley Medical Center, Sheridan; St. Luke Community Hospital, Ronan; St. James Medical Group & Southwest Montana Community Health Center, Butte; Stoneybrook Medicine, Stevensville; Tribal Health of the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes, St. Ignatius.

Reed Humphrey, UM College of Health dean and acting provost, serves as the designated institutional official for the FMRWM and leads UM Health & Medicine program.

“The residency program is a critically important element of our interprofessional collaboration efforts at UM,” he said. “We are pleased to be able to sponsor and work closely with the residency program in our widening portfolio of contemporary health education programs.”

For more information visit


Contact: Nathan Gilliam, FMRWM program coordinator, 406-258-4451,