2020-21 Academic Calendar

The 2021-2022 academic calendar is under review and may be adjusted given the status of COVID-19. UM is working collaboratively with university administrators, faculty and other constituent groups, along with our colleagues within the Montana University System to finalize an academic calendar and will provide an update as soon as possible.

Dates listed below are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in registration instructions take precedence over those listed below.

NOTE: UM students taking coursework at campuses other than UM's Mountain, Missoula College, or Bitterroot College Program campuses should consult that campus' academic calendar.

The Alexander Blewett III School of Law academic calendar is available here.

Spring Semester 2021
Date Description
Wednesday-Friday, January 6-8 New Student Orientation
Monday, January 11 Spring Semester Classes Begin
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, February 15 Presidents' Day – No Classes, Offices Closed
Thursday, March 4 Student Break - No Classes
Tuesday, March 16 Student Break - No Classes
Friday, April 2 Student Break - No Classes
Friday, April 23 Last Day of Regular Classes
Monday-Friday, April 26-30 Final Exams
Saturday, May 1 Commencement

Summer Semester 2021

Summer sessions are offered in 3-week, 6-week and 12-week formats.

All formats have a session beginning in May. See below for the start dates of all summer sessions. For more information, visit the UM Summer website.

12-week Summer Sessions
Date Description
Monday, May 10 Classes Begin for 12-week Session
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, July 5 Independence Day Observed - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, July 30 Last Day of Classes for 12-week Session

 

6-week Summer Sessions
Date Description
Monday, May 10 Classes Begin for 6-week Session I
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, June 18 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session I
Monday, June 21 Classes Begin for 6-week Session II
Monday, July 5 Independence Day Observed - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, July 30 Last Day of Classes for 6-week Session II

 

3-week Summer Sessions
Date Description
Monday, May 10 Classes Begin for 3-week Session I
Friday, May 28 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session I
Tuesday, June 1 Classes Begin for 3-week Session II
Friday, June 18 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session II
Monday, June 21 Classes Begin for 3-week Session III
Monday, July 5 Independence Day Observed - No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, July 9 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session III
Monday, July 12 Classes Begin for 3-week Session IV
Friday, July 30 Last Day of Classes for 3-week Session IV