Who We Are - What We Do

HUMAN RESOURCE SERVICES

Our TEAM is comprised of the following services:  Benefits, Payroll, Employee & Labor Relations, Compensation, Recruitment, Accounting, Communications and Employee Wellness. Every HRS Team member is dedicated to ensuring that all employees are well informed about the resources and benefits available to You, the employee, at the University of Montana and are willing to help anytime.

Employee Welcome Center:  406-243-6766
Email:  ASKHR@mso.umt.edu 

ASSOCIATE VICE PRESIDENT FOR HRS OPERATIONS & FINANCE

Terri Phillips: 406-243-5703
Email:  Terri.Phillips@umontana.edu 

Oversight and operational responsibility for all aspects of HRS; consults with administration, managers and employees on complex HRS issues; develops HRS policies and procedures; manages institutional initiatives related to Human Resource Services.

ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR- INTERIM

Shawn Blair: 406-243-5705
Email:  Shawn.Blair@umontana.edu 

Provides consultation regarding employee performance & investigations.   Provides workplace mediation.  Participates in labor negotiations.  Has operational supervision of Recruitment, Workers Compensation and Compensation teams.

ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR, FISCAL AND TAX COMPLIANCE

Chelsea Chirinos: 406-243-5199
Email:  Chelsea.Chirinos@umontana.edu 

Counsels departments and affiliated campuses to ensure compliance processes and procedures. Ensures overall financial data integrity and compliance with outside agency rules and regulations and reporting requirements. Provides departments with information on correct procedures for employing all non–resident aliens, J1 & F1 visas.

COMMUNICATIONS, RECRUITMENT, WELLNESS

Ann Guiditta: 406-243-2665
Email:  Ann.Guiditta@umontana.edu 

Manages HRS website, communicates important HRS information to campus, coordinates Wellness activities, assists Associate VP and Associate Director, answers general inquiries and problem solves as needed. Faculty/Staff immigration liaison/support for H1B and permanent residency cases and Public Service Loan Forgiveness.

BENEFITS

Rita Garland, Benefits Specialist: 406-243-4238
Email:  Rita.Garland@umontana.edu 

Advises and consults employees and managers on questions related to MUS employee benefits plans; retirement benefits; FMLA and general leave of absences.

WORKERS COMPENSATION

Michele Wheeler, Manager: 406-243-2842
Email:  Michele.Wheeler@umontana.edu 

Oversees workers compensation program, acting as a liaison between injured workers, supervisors and the work comp adjuster.  Insures that work comp benefits are distributed appropriately. Coordinates accommodation of restricted work and the return to work transition. Provides training to supervisors across campus to ensure that injuries are reported promptly and that there is a basic understanding of the work comp process. Ensures timely communication regarding work status is relayed to benefits coordinator to prevent overpayment of lost wages. Works with OCHE Work Comp Director to achieve consistency in the work comp program across the MUS system.

PAYROLL

Sheila Wright, Manager: 406-243-2526
Email:  Sheila.Wright@umontana.edu
 
Provides oversight and consulting on the right processes, procedures and information needed to insure that all employees are accurately classified and paid on time.

HUMAN RESOURCES ASSOCIATES FOR PAYROLL

Marin Hall (Lead):  406-243-6761
Email:  Marin.Hall@umontana.edu 

Lia Wilson: 406-243-2570
Email: Lia.Wilson@umontana.edu  

Madeline Schultz:  406-243-6762
Email: Madeline.Schultz@umontana.edu 
 
Steph Dahl:  406-243-6722
Email:  Stephanie.Dahl@umontana.edu 

(VACANT):  406-243-6437

Our HRS Payroll Associates support over 140 campus departments ensuring that the right data and procedures are completed for accurate paychecks. They answer questions related to personnel actions for hiring, employment status changes, terminations, funding changes, benefits and retirement eligibility, payroll processes and procedures, and provide general HRS information.

STUDENT PAYROLL

406-243-6985
Provides guidance to departments on the employment of student employees including work-study, non-work study and graduate students; answers all student employee questions in regard to their wage payments.

EMPLOYEE WELCOME CENTER MANAGER

Bonnie Tucker - 406-243-6760
Email:  Bonnie.Tucker@umontana.edu

Greets visitors, UM staff and students and serves as the HR Generalist.  Provides information and resources regarding benefits, payroll, labor relations, fee waivers, recruitment, hiring forms, employment verifications and student services to administrators, faculty, staff and students.

RECRUITMENT

Marcie Briggs, Recruitment Manager: 406-243-5706
Email:  Marcie.Briggs@umontana.edu 

Jordon Wallin, Recruitment Specialist: 406-243-5707
Email: Jordon.Wallin@umontana.edu  

Noah Adams, Recruitment Specialist: 406-243-5708
Email:  Noah.Adams@umontana.edu 

Consults and advises with departments on the recruitment and hiring process for faculty, contract professionals, classified staff, and temporary employees. Works with applicants, current employees, and outside employment agencies to attract and retain qualified candidates for positions with the University of Montana.

COMPENSATION

Libby Newman, Compensation Manager: 406-243-4595
Email:  Libby.Newman@umontana.edu  

Danny Groshong, Compensation Analyst: 406-243-4596
Email: Danny.Groshong@umontana.edu 

Provides consultation services for all departments regarding temporary, staff, and professional positions. Provides oversight of the Staff Performance Review process and ensures proper application of the MUS Staff Compensation Plan.

PAYROLL ACCOUNTS PAYABLE

Sherene Ricci: 406-243-5613
Email:  Sherene.Ricci@umontana.edu 

Provides information to employees regarding deductions—garnishments, wage assignments, union dues, health insurance premiums, retirement, child support.

PAYROLL ACCOUNTING ASSOCIATE

Clara Moore:  406-243-2865
Email:  Clara.Moore@umontana.edu 

Provides accounting services for campus departments and processes extra compensation. Provides departments with information on correct procedures for employing all non–resident aliens, J1 & F1 visas.

BUSINESS OPERATIONS ANALYST

Steve Hoffmann:  406-243-6457 
Email:  Steve.Hoffmann@umontana.edu 

Provides specialized reports to depts., affiliates, OCHE, unions and government agencies.

PAYROLL SPECIALIST

Pam Anderson:  406-243-6451
Email:  Pam.Anderson@umontana.edu 

Processes payroll, direct deposits, faculty/staff and dependent tuition waivers.