Distinguished Scholar Award

The Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes faculty who have made outstanding contributions in the areas of research, creativity, or other scholarly activities.  The award comes with a $1,000 prize.

Who is eligible:
All UM faculty. Creative and scholarly activities, basic research, and applied research will be given equal consideration.

Who may nominate:
Deans, department chairs, and faculty members.

Nomination requirements:

  • Please use the link below to submit a nomination form

The total scholarly contributions of the individual will be considered with respect to:

  • the quality and number of publications, and other forms of scholarship presentation;
  • direction of graduate students' research and their accomplishments;
  • honors, awards, and published comments on the validity and importance of the scholarship;
  • letters of support from other scholars in the discipline;
  • a record of receiving outside financial support, with particular emphasis on the nature of the projects and the selection process.

Submit nomination using Submittable:


Kathy Kuipers, Department of Sociaology

Final selection is by UM's University Research and Creativity Committee

2017 Winner

Brent Ruby
Professor, Department of Health and Human Performance

List of previous recipients.