Distinguished Teaching Award

The $500 Distinguished Teaching Award is an extraordinary honor bestowed on those faculty who, regardless of rank, have exhibited a history of excellence in classroom teaching and have demonstrated a quality long-term impact upon their students.

Who is eligible:
Any tenured or tenure-track faculty member who has not previously received a Distinguished Teaching Award.

Who may nominate:
All UM faculty, deans and department chairpersons (no self-nominations.) Documentation may be compiled by the nominee, his or her chairperson, or any faculty member, although it is typically forwarded by the chair.

Nomination requirements:

  • Please use the link below to submit a nomination form
  • Nomination letter (limited to two pages).
  • Letters of recommendations 1-3

Unsuccessful nomination information from previous years may be made current and resubmitted.

The best letters of nomination tend to include a specific detail that supports the generalizations made about teaching excellence.

Additional materials (optional):

You may submit additional materials that could include:

  • Evidence of multiple strategies for good classroom learning.
  • Assessment plans that demonstrate student learning.
  • Information about authored textbooks and laboratory manuals used outside UM.
  • Authored papers on teaching techniques in education journals.
  • Evidence of students' success following graduation.
  • Short description of presentations relative to teaching methods. 
  • Statement of nominee's teaching philosophy.

Submit nomination using Submittable:


Nathan Lindsay
Office of the Provost
University Hall 126

2018 Winner

No award was given

List of previous recipients.