Outstanding Staff Awards

Two Outstanding Staff Awards worth $1,500 each are presented to University of Montana employees. One award honors a staff member for Excellence in Job Performance, the other for Campus Interaction and Meritorious Job Performance.

Excellence in Job Performance Award

This award focuses on a staff member who excels in all aspects of his or her position, someone who possesses an excellent work ethic and has an extraordinary impact within the department as a role model, connecting with students, staff, faculty, or administrators.

Campus Interaction and Meritorious Job Performance Award

This award focuses on a staff member who not only exceeds expectations within the department but also interacts and provides service campus-wide, creating positive interactions with others and having impact outside of the department.

Compliance with ALL of the following criteria is necessary to ensure consideration of your nominee.

Who is eligible:
Any classified staff member with a minimum of three years' service as a permanent employee.

Who may nominate:
Any University employee, including staff, faculty, and administrators.

Nomination requirements:

  • Nomination Form
  • letter of introduction from the nominating person, addressing the selection criteria listed on the nomination form.
  • no more than three additional letters of support giving specific examples of how the employee has excelled and meets the criteria.

Send nominations and documentation to:
Judy Wellert
Staff Senate

Nominations will be reviewed by a committee of staff members, including two staff senators and four past award recipients.

Campus Interaction and Meritorious Job Performance

2015 Winner

Michael Sweet 
Research Specialist, College of Forestry and Conservation 

Previous recipients include Kris Csorosz, Cheryl Minnick, Edward Morrissey, Becky Maier, Tim Edwards, Joe Tredik, Angela Priest, and Kelly Chadwick.

Excellence in Job Performance

2015 Winner

Janean Clark
Administrative Associate Manager, Divison of Biological Sciences 

Previous recipients include Mark Potter, Geri Fox, Jamie Dixson, Jennifer Fowler, Tammy Yedinak, Dani McLaughlin, Patricia Collins, and Michelle Johnsen.