Awards and Grants

The Nancy Borgmann Diversity Award

The Nancy Borgmann Diversity Award nominations for FY 16 has been closed. The submission deadline was Friday, February 26, 2016.  

The Nancy Borgmann Diversity Award, named in honor of a former Director of the Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action Office, recognizes contributions made by an individual who supports the University's mission on diversity. The award comes with a $1,500 prize. All full-time permanent University employees, with the exception of those currently serving on the Diversity Advisory Council, who have contributed substantially to cultural diversity at UM are eligible for this award.

Questions? Contact Mika Watanabe, Nancy Borgmann Diversity Award subcommittee member, at 406-243-6535 or 

Student Diversity Leadership Awards (formally Student Achievement Awards)

2014 Student Achievement Awards - Twenty-three students received awards at the ceremony. Photo: 2014 Student Achievement Award recipients at the award ceremony. 

The submission deadline for the Diversity Leadership Awards nominations: TBD

Diversity Advisory Council honors students for their leadership and support of diversity with Student Diversity Leadership Awards (formally Student Achievement Award). All students, faculty and staff are invited to submit nominations online.

Questions? Contact Adrianne Donald, Student Achievement Award Subcommittee Chair, at 406-243-6029 or

Diversity Funding Award

You can view the online application.

In support of campus activities that promote and enrich cultural diversity at the University of Montana, the Diversity Advisory Council invites campus community to submit proposals for funding consideration. 

Questions? Contact Co-Chairs, Laurie Walker ( or Wilena Old Person (