The Alexander Blewett III School of Law at the University of Montana offers students a progressive, experience-rich education that combines legal theory with hands-on, practical-based education. Students graduate ready to practice law as a result of a curriculum that incorporates skills training. As a part of the course work, students draft contracts, counsel clients, argue cases, negotiate settlements and, in the third year, complete a clinic placement.

The University also offers joint degree programs, permitting students to earn a Masters’ of Business Administration, Masters’ of Public Administration, or Masters’ of Science in Environmental Studies concurrent with the J.D. While the law school provides an excellent general legal education, special curriculum and certificate programs are available in Alternative Dispute Resolution, American Indian Law, Natural Resource and Environmental Law, and Trial Advocacy.

The Blewett School of Law is located alongside the Clark Fork River and in the shadow of Mount Sentinel, in Missoula, a community named one of the “Best River Towns in America” and “16 Greatest Places to Live in America” by Outside Magazine.

Fall 2016 Forum, Fair, and Campus Visit Dates

The Alexander Blewett III School of Law will be visiting the following locations this fall. For specific times at each location, please contact Sarah Pepe, Director of Admissions.


Wednesday, September 14 - University of Alaska Fairbanks
Thursday, September 15 - University of Alaska Anchorage
Monday, September 26 - Dixie State University
Tuesday, September 27 - Southern Utah University
Wednesday, September 28 - University of Las Vegas


Tuesday, October 11 - Montana State University
Wednesday, October 12 - University of Northern Colorado
Wednesday, October 12 - Colorado State University
Thursday, October 13 - Colorado College
Thursday, October 13 - University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Monday, October 17 - Texas A&M University
Tuesday, October 18 - University of Texas Arlington
Wednesday, October 19 - Oklahoma University
Thursday, October 20 - University of Texas at Austin
Friday, October 21 - University of Texas at San Antonio
Saturday, October 22 - Houston, TX (LSAC Forum)
Monday, October 24 - University of Colorado, Boulder
Tuesday, October 25 - University of Utah
Tuesday, October 25 - Utah Valley University (evening)
Wednesday, October 26 - BYU
Thursday, October 27 - Eastern Washington University


Wednesday, November 2 - Idaho State University
Thursday, November 3 - Boise State University
Friday, November 11 - University of Puget Sound
Wednesday, November 16 - Western Washington University
Thursday, November 17 - University of Washington

Get Lost in Montana

Application Deadline

The application deadline is March 15 for the fall start date. The School of Law will accept late applications as space permits.


2016-17 Academic Year
Resident: $11,451
Non-resident: $30,850
(based on 30 credits)
Full Details

Contact Us

Sarah Pepe
Director of Admissions
(406) 243-2396

Sarah Phillips
Program Coordinator for Admissions and Career Services
(406) 243-6169

Lori Freeman, JD
Director of Career Services
(406) 243-2698