Alumni Updates

David Roemer is the new superintendent of Glacier National Park.

Cleo Wölfle Hazard published Underflows: Queer Trans Ecologies and River Justice.

Souta Calling-Last of Indigenous Vision offers Cultural Humility Training.

Kylie Paul, CLLC, was named Emerging Conservationist by Missoula Conservation Roundtable.  

Cassidy Randall published stories in Patagonia on John Murray and his lifelong work to protect the Badger-Two Medicine, and for National Geographic on disappearing glaciers in the North Cascades

Rob Green produces a beautiful video on restoration work on Lolo Creek.

Blair Libby working as CSKT Wetlands Conservation Plan Coordinator with alum Chauncey Means.

Dave Glaser’s nonprofit development corporation was awarded $2 million.

Don Snow was honored with an endowed chair named for him at Whitman College.

Mary Anne Hitt is now Senior Director at the Climate Imperative. Listen to her vision of a clean energy future online here.

Christian Meny was hired as MT Audubon’s new Conservation Ranching program manager.

Katie Deuel, Director of Home Resource, was interviewed on Montana public radio.

James Brugger of Inside Climate News publishes articles on coal’s catastrophic impacts on Kentucky.

Dan Carlino (voted Missoula’s Best Activist in the Missoulian poll) was elected to Missoula City Council.

Dave Glaser, Director of MOFI appointed to the national committee by President Biden.

Tracy Stone Manning was confirmed as Director of BLM.

Andrea Stephens is Director of Undergrad & Field Education at UM’s Wilderness Institute.

Anne Grant manages UM’s NSF-funded Willow-AGEP Alliance advancingNative American STEM Faculty.

Anna Peterson, Executive Director of Mountain Pact,  releases a report on Restoring America the Beautiful.

Peter McDonough was selected as the new Director of UM Climate Change Studies Program

Pedro Marquez, ED of Big Hole Watershed Group, directs its award-winning restoration efforts.

Mallory Scharf was hired as a water resources specialist with MT DNRC.

Abigail Huseth of Climate Smart challenged PSC's decision & helped create Missoula’s carbon offset  Footprint Fund.

Audrey Pongluelert was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship.

Ron Scholl, Missoula Community Access TV, published  Alberton, MT – Anatomy of a Toxic Train Wreck.

William Homestead, New England College, published Ecology of Communication: Response/Responsibility in Ecocrisis.

Laura Garber runs Cultivating ConnectionsHomestead Organics Farm near Hamilton, MT.

Liz Fairbank, Center for Large Landscape Conservation, featured at Wildlife Society conference.

Erin Sexton, Flathead Lake Biostation scientist, was profiled in Outdoors Unlimited Magazine.

David Strohmaier, Missoula County Commissioner & president of Big Sky Passenger Rail Authority is working to return passenger rail service to southern Montana.

Simon Buzzard’s work was featured in High Country News.   

Murray Carpenter shares a good fish story on NPR.

Emily Withnall wins the Kittredge Educational Fund grant and will work on her first book in NM.

Melissa Lafontaine started a new non-profit in Missoula: Earth Within Girls.

Wild Rockies Field Institute creates a Scholarship in memory of EVST alum Lindsay Ashton.

Abby Huseth and Sarah Lundquist welcomed new little earth huggers to the world in 2021.

4 EVST alums receive awards for their climate action from Climate Smart Missoula. 

6 EVST alums were honored by being added to MontPIRG’s 40 leaders for 40 years.

The EVST alums at MT Natural History Center continue to provide inspiring nature education to nature lovers of all ages. And they have raised the funds to put solar panels on top of the Center – shrinking their carbon footprint! MNHC’s EVST crew includes Ser Anderson, Allison DeJong, Alyssa Giffin, Drew Lefebvre, Jenah Mead,  Christine Morris, and Hank Fisher.