Dean Stone Celebration

Each spring the School of Journalism celebrates its founder, Dean Arthur Stone, and its current students with an annual lecture and scholarship and awards banquet.

In 2024, Dean Stone events will span April 4-5.

On Thursday, April 4 at 7 p.m. in the UC Theater, join the J-School in welcoming Michael Duffy, the opinions editor at large of the Washington Post, who will deliver the annual Dean Stone Lecture. 

On Friday, April 5, from 5-9 at the Holiday Inn Downtown, we will host the Dean Stone Awards Banquet to honor students and their outstanding work. For more information and to get tickets, contact the main office: 406-243-4001 or email -

Thanks to generous endowments and donor contributions, the school awarded more than $325,000 in scholarships at last year's banquet.

In addition to the banquet, we feature a special public lecture in the week running up to the banquet. 

Previous Dean Stone speakers have included Dean Baquet, executive editor of the New York Times; former NBC News anchor Tom Brokaw; Judy Woodruff of PBS Newshour; Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Eli Sanders;The New Yorker magazine writer Adam EntousNew York Times staff writer and National Magazine Award-winner Nikole Hannah-Jones; and Chris Jones, editor-in-chief of National Geographic magazine.