Symphonic Wind Ensemble



The Symphonic Wind Ensemble is the premier performing ensemble of the University of Montana Band Program. Conducted by Dr. James Smart, the ensemble performs repertoire from the cutting edge of contemporary composition to the standard repertoire of the wind band medium. Positions in the ensemble are open to all university students, regardless of major, and are determined by auditions held at the beginning of each semester. The ensemble maintains an active performance schedule including on-campus concerts and an annual spring tour. The group has performed for major conferences including the NAfME Northwest and the College Band Directors National Associations Western/Northwestern Regional Conference. The ensemble also hosts an annual UM High School All-Star Wind Ensemble Festival and Concert Band Festival where they perform with world renowned guest artists.



Coming soon.


Michael Mergen, James Smart, Joel Puckett, David Maslanka



SWE with President's Own US Marine Quintet


NAfME Northwest
2001 - Spokane, WA
2005 - Bellevue, WA
2013 - Portland, OR

CBDNA Western/NW
1996 - Reno, NV
2006 – Reno, NV
2010 – Reno, NV
2018 – Rohnert Park, CA

SWE Composer Residencies & Commissions
* = commission                     † = residency
Samuel Adler†
Martin Bresnick†
Steven Bryant*
Huck Hodge*
Simon Hutchinson*
Ted King-Smith*
David Maslanka*†
James Mobberley*
Tom Morrison*†
Ben Murphy*
Craig Naylor*†
Charles Nichols*†
Joel Puckett*†
Michael Schachter*
Joseph Schwantner*
Alex Shapiro†
D.J. Sparr*†
Christopher Stark†
Christopher Theofanidis*
Jess Langston Turner*

Guest Soloists
James Walker, flute
Peter Cooper, oboe
Lawrie Bloom, clarinet
Kimberly Cole Luevano, clarinet
Anthony Averay, bassoon
Susan Nelson, bassoon
Russell Peterson, bassoon
Chris Creviston, saxophone
John Sampen, saxophone
Thomas Bacon, horn
Rachel Childers, horn
Jeff Nelsen, horn
Joe Burgstaller, trumpet
Michael Mergen, trumpet
Rex Richardson, trumpet
Wiff Rudd, trumpet
Allen Vizzutti, trumpet
Tom Ashworth, trombone
Phil Ostrander, trombone
Brian Bowman, euphonium
Paul Mergen, tuba
Harvey Phillips, tuba
Patrick Sheridan, tuba
Deanna Swoboda, tuba
Christopher Deane, percussion

2022-2023 Members

Coming soon!