Recent News


Law School Partners with Ries Law Group, YWCA to Help Domestic Violence Survivors

Students Provide Thousands of Pro Bono Hours to Underserved Communities

School of Law and DPAP Alumni and Former Faculty Elected to State Office

Q&A with Professor Andrew King-Ries

Veterans Advocacy Clinic Provides New Hope for Montana Vets

School of Law Loses Two Class of '66 Alumni

In Memoriam: Jack Tuholske

Law Faculty Selected as MUS Teaching Scholars

UM Law Bar Pass Rate Soars to 94.5%

Law School Welcomes New Director of Career Development

Gift Lets Students Support Criminal Justice Reform in Rural Areas

Law School Welcomes New Faculty Member

Professor Sandi Zellmer Elected to the American College of Environmental Lawyers

Q&A with Associate Professor Cathay Y. N. Smith

UM Law Professor Receives Fulbright Scholar Award to Study Indigenous Justice

Law School Announces 2020 Graduation Awards

Law Student Awarded Bertha Morton Scholarship

Seventh Annual Spring Break Writers' Challenge Offers Creative Connection During Social Distancing

COVID-19 Update

UM Law School Hosts Event Unveiling Historic Images

Baucus Institute Sends UM Students to National Campaign Conference

First Native American Women to Serve in Congress Speak on Historic Panel Moderated by Professor Monte Mills


Veterans Advocacy Clinic Does Outreach to Rocky Boy Reservation

Labor Day Weekend at the Poplar Indian Days Celebration

UM Earns Montana’s First Nationally Accredited MPA Program

Ally Seneczko '20 Selected for 2019 Rural Summer Legal Corps Fellowship

UM Offers Eight Indian Law Courses This Summer

Students, Faculty Receive Recognition for 2018-2019 Academic Year

Class of 2019 - Graduation Spotlight

American Bar Association President to Speak at Law School Graduation

Dan Brister '20 Selected as a Wyss Conservation Scholar

UM Blewett School of Law Goes Carbon Neutral


Blewett School of Law Named to National Best Value List

Washington Foundation Gift Creates Path to Public Service for UM Students

UM Alumnus Elected American Bar Association President

Students, Faculty Receive Recognition for 2017-2018 Academic Year

UM Offers Indian Law Courses This Summer

NALSA Indian Law Week 2018 Celebrates Treaties, Sovereignty, Tribes

Blewett School of Law Ranked a "Top School for Environmental Law"

Blewett School of Law Welcomes New Faculty: Sandi Zellmer, Craig Cowie

Environmental Law Moot Court Competition Awards

Blewett School of Law: Best Value, Seventh in Nation for Clerkship Placements

Lillian Alvernaz '18 Selected as a 2017 Ms. JD Fellow


Negotiation Team Success at Regionals

Charter Communications Honors Baucus Institute with Reception, Donation

Blewett School of Law Ranked a "Best Value Law School"

Morgan Chandler ’17 Places Third in Schwab Memorial Essay Contest

Negotiations Team Earns Third Place in International Competition

School of Law and U.S. District Court Join Forces to Renovate Pope Room

Blewett School of Law Ranks Fifteenth in Federal Clerkship Placement

Negotiations Team Invited to International Competition

Wilson ’18 Accepts Internship in The Hague

Zellmer Joins the School of Law as a Visiting Professor

UM Alums Find Their Spots on the Bench

Clinic Program to Celebrate 50 Years at Evening with NALSA

Hagel Provides Timely Insight at Jones Tamm Lecture

NALSA and Cultural Heritage Moot Court Teams Compete in National Competitions

Professor Gagliardi Receives Presidential Faculty Award

Negotiations Team Finishes Second in the Nation


Anne Sherwood ’17 Receives Ms. JD Fellowship

Ferrari-Agudelo '18 Receives Goldmark Equal Access to Justice Internship

Moot Court Team Wins Regionals, Advances to Nationals

Negotiation Team Wins Regionals for Fourth Consecutive Year

Professors Mills, Williams Speak on Place-Based Legal Education

Blewett Scholarship Matching Challenge Raises Over $400,000 in First 15 Months

Law School Receives $2.5 Million Bequest for Scholarships

Arctic Grayling Benefit from Work of Land Use and Natural Resources Clinic

Capulong Appointed Associate Dean for Clinical, Experiential Education

Year Begins with More Students, Higher Academic Markers

David Cutts Remembered for His Generous Socrates Scholarship

Professor Smith Appointed to Public Art Committee

Hon. Charles Erdmann '75 to Deliver Commencement Address

Professor Bryan Speaks at Law, Environment Conference

Professor Gordon Receives Recognition from UM and ELI

Annual Law Week to Feature Access to Justice Theme

Browning Lecture to Feature Longtime Ninth Circuit Judge

Jessup Team Performs Well at Regional Competition

WLC Increases Goal for 19th Annual Silent Auction

MWBC Provides Support for Student Intern

Panarella to Receive Ruffatto Memorial Award

Remembering John Maynard ’78


Grant Awarded to School of Law

Regents Approve Baucus Institute

Moot Court Teams Place First, Second

Negotiations Team Places First

School of Law to Host Regional Moot Court Competition

Coolidge Receives Pro Bono Award

Haines Receives Distinguished Service Award

Professor Mills to Present at Indian Law Conference

Law Students Visit Blackfoot Valley

Professor Bryan to Speak at Drought Symposium

ABA President to Visit with Students

Paige Griffith Receives Ms. JD Fellowship

Professor Byington Cited by Several Bankruptcy Courts

New Full-Tuition Scholarship Honors Sen. Lee Metcalf ’36

2Ls Laughlin, Wall Awarded MPILC Fellowship

$10 Million Gift Builds for the Future

Students Participate in State Bar CLE

Clay Miller Receives RMMLF Scholarship

UMSL Ranks High for Graduate Placement

AALS Annual Clinic Conference

Students Take Trip to Kootenai Falls

Student Spotlight: Paige Griffith '16

Recognizing Trial Lawyer Jerry Ramsey

UMSL Recognized for Civic Education

Catching Up with the Trial Team

Barristers’ Ball Celebrates 100 Years

Energy Tour Day 5 – Controlling the Grid

Energy Tour Day 4 – Coal Mining in Colstrip

Supreme Court Oral Argument 2015

Energy Tour Day 3 – Exploring the Oil Fields

Discussing the Montana Constitution With Its Authors

Energy Tour Day 2

Energy Tour Day 1

Professor Bryan to Speak in ABA Water Law Webinar

Professor Johnstone to Speak at Equal Pay Summit

Recognizing CSKT’s Evelyn Stevenson

Dean Munro to Speak at 33rd Annual PIELC

Mediation Team Finishes Third and Fourth

Environmental Moot Court Team Advances to Final Round

Professor Russell to Speak at Symposium

Dan Knudsen '15 Awarded ABA Taxation Fellowship

ABA Negotiation Team Competes at Nationals

Professor Gagliardi Elected as Fellow to ACTC

Madeline ‘Betty’ Blankenship Remembered

Professor Smith Receives Casey Award

In the News: Andrew King-Ries

Knudsen ’08 Becomes Speaker of the House at Age 33

Erdmann ’75 to Become Chief Judge

Passing of Charles “Timer” Moses '49


Former Dean Irma Russell Published in Environmental Forum

Professor Williams to Speak at ELR Symposium

UM Law Grads Involved with Kaarma Trial and National Debate on Self-Defense

UMSL Graduate Named New Chief for 9th Circuit

UM School of Law ABA Negotiation Competition Team Finishes First

Paul Kirgis Named Dean of the UM School of Law

Student Receives Annual Pro Bono Award

Fernando Terrones ’14 Receives Purple Heart