Advising Contacts

For a list of minors and contact information, access the minor and certificate directory. 

Students unsure of a major are encouraged to utilize the College of Humanities and Sciences' Areas of Interest page as well.

To find office and department locations, check out the printable campus map.

Advising Directory

DEPARTMENT/ PROGRAM

CONTACT(S)

OFFICE

PHONE

DEPT

PHONE

EMAIL

African American Studies

 Sam Alvey

 LA 133

 (406) 243-2603

 

 

 sam.alvey@mso.umt.edu

Anthropology

Tiana Jensen

LA 133

  (406) 243-2928

 

 

tiana.jensen@mso.umt.edu

 

Meradeth Snow

SS 213

 

SS 259B

 (406) 243-2693

meradeth.snow@umontana.edu

Art, School of

Ed Morrissey

FA 204

 (406) 243-4181

FA 204

 (406) 243-4181

edward.morrissey@umontana.edu

Biology

Kerry Bright

HS 107

 (406) 243-4105

HS 104

 (406) 243-5122

biology.advisor@mso.umt.edu

Biochemistry

Robyn Berg

LA 133

 (406) 243-2866

robyn.berg@mso.umt.edu

 

Kent Sugden

CHEM 306

  (406) 243-4193

CHEM 115  (406) 243-4022

kent.sugden@umontana.edu 

 

Bruce Bowler

CHEM 310

 (406) 243-6114

bruce.bowler@umontana.edu

Bitterroot College

Jamie Standaert

101G

 (406) 375-0100

jamie.standaert@mso.umt.edu

Business Administration
(All College of Business Programs)

Advising Office
 

GBB L35

 (406) 243-5971

GBB L35

 (406) 243-5971

business@mso.umt.edu

Central & Southwest Asian Studies

Ardi Kia

STON 301

 (406) 243-2693

STON 301

 (406) 243-2299

ardi.kia@mso.umt.edu

Chemistry

Robyn Berg

LA 133

 (406) 243-2866

 

 

robyn.berg@mso.umt.edu

Kent Sugden
(ACS Option and Pharmacology) 

CHEM 306 

 (406) 243-4022 

CHEM 115  (406) 243-4022

 

kent.sugden@umontana.edu

Christopher Palmer
(Forensic Chemistry)

CHEM 203A

 (406) 243-5637

CHEM 115  (406) 243-4022

christopher.palmer@umontana.edu

Michael DeGrandpre
(Environmental Chemistry)

CHEM 318

 (406) 243-4118

CHEM 115  (406) 243-4022

michael.degrandpre@umontana.edu

College of Humanities and Sciences Advising Center

Stephanie Ritrievi

LA 133

 (406) 243-4005

 

 

stephanie.ritrievi@mso.umt.edu

Communication Studies

Tiana Jensen

LA 133

 (406) 243-2928

 

 

tiana.jensen@mso.umt.edu

 

Gregory Larson

LA 345

 (406) 243-4161

LA 301 

 (406) 243-4293 

greg.larson@mso.umt.edu

Computational Biochemistry
Robyn Berg LA 133 (406) 243-2866 robyn.berg@mso.umt.edu
Computer Science

Robyn Berg

LA 133

 (406) 243-2866

 

 

robyn.berg@mso.umt.edu

 

Douglas Brinkerhoff

SS 403

 (406) 243-4597 

SS 259B

 (406) 243-2883 

Douglas1.brinkerhoff@umontana.edu

Creative Writing

Morgan Curtin

LA 133

(406) 243-2149

 

 

morgan.curtin@umontana.edu

Dance

Erin McDaniel

PARTV 110

 (406) 243-4488

PARTV 110

 (406) 243-4481

erin.mcdaniel@umontana.edu

Davidson Honors College

Bethany Applegate

DHC 102

 (406) 243-2537

DHC 101

 (406) 243-2541

bethany.applegate@umontana.edu

East Asian Studies

Brian Dowdle

LA 326

 (406) 243-5480

MLIB 450

 (406) 243-2988

brian.dowdle@umontana.edu

Economics

Tiana Jensen

LA 133

 (406) 243-2928

 

 

tiana.jensen@mso.umt.edu

 

Amanda Dawsey

 LA 402

  (406) 243-2926

LA 407 

 (406) 243-2925 

amanda.dawsey@mso.umt.edu

Education (Elementary and Early Childhood)

Charity Atteberry

EDU 227

 (406) 243-6170

EDU 225

 (406) 243-4841

charity.atteberry@mso.umt.edu

Education (Secondary)

Lisa Firehammer

EDU 228

 (406) 243-4841

EDU 225

 (406) 243-4841

lisa.firehammer@umontana.edu

English & English Teaching

Morgan Curtin

LA 133

 (406) 243-2149

 LA 101

 (406) 243-5231 

morgan.curtin@mso.umt.edu

Environmental Sciences and Sustainability

Shonna Trowbridge

FOR 204

(406) 243-4844

FOR 109A

(406) 243-5521

shonna.trowbridge@umontana.edu

Environmental Studies

Sam Alvey

LA 133

 (406) 243-2603

 

 

sam.alvey@mso.umt.edu

Experiential Learning and Career Success

(Volunteer, service learning, internships, research, study away)

Cheryl Minnick

 LC 183

  (406) 243-4614

DHC 002 

  (406) 243-2815

 cheryl.minnick@umontana.edu

Forestry

Christine Dascenzo

FOR 204

 (406) 243-6637

FOR 109A

 (406) 243-5521

christine.dascenzo@umontana.edu

Franke Global Leadership Initiative

Jeanne Loftus

UC 221

 (406) 243-5679

UC 220

 (406) 243-6869

jeanne.loftus@umontana.edu

 

MacKenzie Forbis

UC 222

 (406) 243-6869

UC 220

 (406) 243-6869

mackenzie.forbis@umontana.edu

Geography
Christine Dascenzo FOR 204  (406) 243-6637 FOR 109A  (406) 243-5521 christine.dascenzo@umontana.edu
Geosciences (Geology)

Rebecca Kranitz

LA 133

 (406) 243-2830

CHCB 126

 (406) 243-2341

rebecca.kranitz@umontana.edu

Global Humanities & Religions

Morgan Curtin

LA 133

  (406) 243-2149

 

 

morgan.curtin@mso.umt.edu

 

Ruth Vanita

LA 101A

 (406) 243-5793

LA 101

 (406) 243-2949

ruth.vanita@umontana.edu

History

Diane Rapp

LA 133

 (406) 243-6976

 

diane.rapp@mso.umt.edu

 

Kyle Volk

LA 260

 (406) 243-2989

LA 256

 (406) 243-2231

kyle.volk@umontana.edu

Integrative Physiology

Stephanie Domitrovich

MCG 104

(406) 243-6264

MCG 101

(406) 243-4211

stephanie.domitrovich@mso.umt.edu

Journalism

Denise Dowling

DAH 205

 (406) 243-5250

DAH 201

 (406) 243-4001

denise.dowling@umontana.edu

Cameron Bucheit

DAH 201

 (406) 243-4001

DAH 201

 (406) 243-4001

cameron.bucheit@umontana.edu

Linguistics

Tiana Jensen

LA 133

 (406) 243-2928

 

 

tiana.jensen@mso.umt.edu
 

Mizuki Miyashita

SS 212

 (406) 243-2693

 

 

mizuki.miyashita@umontana.edu
Mathematical Sciences

Robyn Berg

LA 133

 (406) 243-2866

 

 

robyn.berg@mso.umt.edu

 

Nikolaus Vonessen

MA 207 

  (406) 243-6222

 MA 102

 (406) 243-5311

nikolaus.vonessen@umontana.edu

Media Arts

Ed Morrissey

FA 204

 (406) 243-4181

McG 224

 (406) 243-4540

edward.morrissey@umontana.edu

Medical Laboratory Sciences

Rebecca Kranitz

LA 133

 (406) 243-2830

 

 

rebecca.kranitz@umontana.edu

Microbiology

Kerry Bright

HS 107 

 (406) 243-4105 

HS 104 

 (406) 243-5122 

biology.advisor@mso.umt.edu

Missoula College

Academic Advising Center

MC 202

 (406) 243-7925

MC 202

 (406) 243-7925

AcademicAdvisingCenter@umontana.edu

 

*See also UM Catalog and Directory

Multidisciplinary Studies

Stephanie Ritrievi

LA 133

(406) 243-4005

 

 

stephanie.ritrievi@mso.umt.edu

Music

James Randall

MUS 214

 

MUS 101

 (406) 243-6880

james.randall@umontana.edu

National Student Exchange

Cheryl Minnick

LC 183

(406) 243-4614

DHC 002

(406) 243-2022

cminnick@mso.umt.edu

Native American Studies

Sam Alvey

LA 133

 (406) 243-2603

 

 

sam.alvey@mso.umt.edu

Neuroscience

Rebecca Kranitz

LA 133

 (406) 243-2830

rebecca.kranitz@umontana.edu

Parks, Tourism and Recreation Management 

Shonna Trowbridge

FOR 204

 (406) 243-4844

FOR 109A

 (406) 243-5521

shonna.trowbridge@umontana.edu

Philosophy

Morgan Curtin

LA 133

 (406) 243-2149

 

 

morgan.curtin@mso.umt.edu

 

Paul Muench

LA 151

 (406) 243-2351

LA 101

 (406) 243-2949

paul.muench@umontana.edu

Physics & Astronomy

Stephanie Ritrievi

LA 133

 (406) 243-4005

 

 

stephanie.ritrievi@mso.umt.edu

Political Science

Diane Rapp

LA 133

 (406) 243-6976

 

 

diane.rapp@mso.umt.edu

 

Peter Koehn

LA 348

 (406) 243-5294

LA 301

 (406) 243-5202

peter.koehn@umontana.edu

Pre-Engineering

Stephanie Ritrievi

LA 133

 (406) 243-4005

 

 

stephanie.ritrievi@mso.umt.edu

Pre-Law

Soazig Le Bihan

LA 153

 (406) 243-6233

LA 153

 (406) 243-6233

soazig.lebihan@umontana.edu

Pre-Medical Sciences

Mark Pershouse
(1st Contact)

SB 383

 (406) 243-4769

SB 383

 (406) 243-4769

mark.pershouse@umontana.edu

Jason Granvold
(2nd Contact) 

LC 269

 (406) 243-2293

LC 269

 (406) 243-2835

jason.granvold@umontana.edu

Pre-Nursing (Mountain Campus)

Undergraduate Advising Center

LC 269

 (406) 243-2835

LC 269

 (406) 243-2835

OfficeForStudentSuccess@umontana.edu
Pre-Occupational Therapy

Jason Granvold

LC 269 

 (406) 243-2293

LC 269 

 (406) 243-2835

jason.granvold@umontana.edu

Pre-Pharmacy

Erika Claxton

SB 341B

 (406) 243-4656

SB 341

 (406) 243-4656

pharmacy@umontana.edu

Pre-Physical Therapy

Jason Granvold

LC 269

 (406) 243-2293 

LC 269 (406) 243-2835

jason.granvold@umontana.edu

Psychology

Rebecca Kranitz

(Last names A-E)

LA 133

 (406) 243-2830

SB 143 

(406) 243-4521

rebecca.kranitz@umontana.edu

 

Alecia Gray

(Last names F-Z)

 LA 133

 (406) 243-2822

SB 143 

(406) 243-4521

alecia.gray@umontana.edu

 

Allen Szalda-Petree

SB 146

 (406) 243-2093

SB 143

 (406) 243-4521

allen.szalda-petree@umontana.edu

Public Health

Stephanie Domitrovich

MCG 104

(406) 243-6264

SB 177

(406) 243-2571

stephanie.domitrovich@umontana.edu

Social Work

Paige Furniss

(2+2 Distance)

JRH 004

 (406) 243-5554

JRH 004

 (406) 243-5543

paige1.furniss@umontana.edu

Heidi Holzer

(On Campus)

JRH 004

 (406) 243-4941

JRH 004

 (406) 243-5543

heidi.holzer@mso.umt.edu
Sociology

Rick Anderson

LA 133

 (406) 243-5281

 LA 133

 

rick.anderson@mso.umt.edu

Speech, Language, and Hearing
(Formerly Communicative Sciences & Disorders)

 Meghann Schroeder

 CHC 032

(406) 243-6105 

 CHC 009

 (406) 243-2363

 meghann.schroeder@mso.umt.edu

Sustainability Science and Practice

Sam Alvey

LA 133

(406) 243-2603

 

 

sam.alvey@mso.umt.edu

Theatre

Erin McDaniel

PARTV 110

 (406) 243-4488

PARTV 110

 (406) 243-4481

erin.mcdaniel@umontana.edu

TRiO SSS

Peter Donaldson

LC 180

 (406) 243-4202

LC 180

 (406) 243-5032

peter.donaldson@umontana.edu

 

Heather Hibbard

LC 180

(406) 243-4880

LC 180

(406) 243-5032

heather.hibbard@umontana.edu

 

Janet Zupan

LC 180

(406) 243-4210

LC 180

(406) 243-5032

janet.zupan@umontana.edu

Undeclared/Exploratory

Undergraduate
Advising Center

LC 269

 (406) 243-2835

Must Call

Wildlife Biology

Chenoa Harrington

FOR 204

 (406) 243-5272

FOR 109A

 (406) 243-5521

chenoa.harrington@umontana.edu

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Morgan Curtin

LA 133

 (406) 243-2149

 

 

morgan.curtin@mso.umt.edu

Elizabeth Hubble

LA 138A

 (406) 243-2582

LA 138A

 (406) 243-2584

elizabeth.hubble@umontana.edu

World Languages and Cultures

Sam Alvey

LA 133

(406) 243-2603

 

 

sam.alvey@mso.umt.edu

Last Update: 3/5/2021. To update your listing, please email: officeforstudentsuccess@umontana.edu.